LibGuides: Nursing: Nursing Journals

Nursing Journals

Browse CBU's collection of nursing journals by clicking the image above!

You can search for articles on nursing topics by using the CBU nursing databases found below.

Nursing Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. It is the most comprehensive resource for nursing research. [EBSCO]
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research etc.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source - Consumer Edition has a rich collection of consumer health information that provides information on many health topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Provides access to nearly 80 full-text consumer health magazines.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library. Spanish-language videos are available. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. It includes reliable evidence from systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Complete Collection (on Ovid platform) This link opens in a new window
This unique combination from the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) of evidence-rich content plus a set of eight online evidence-based practice (EBP) appraisal, implementation, and management tools is designed to help nurses, physicians, practitioners and healthcare managers implement an effective EBP program and provide patient care based on the best available evidence.
PubMed [see also MEDLINE] This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a freely accessible online database of biomedical journal references created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
CPS Drug Information This link opens in a new window
The Canadian standard for drug monographs contains thousands of products, including monographs for drugs, vaccines, natural health products and medical devices, Lexi-Interact drug interaction checker, critical updates: warnings, advisories and drug shortages, and clinical information on many topics such as pregnancy & breastfeeding.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America, Academic Search Ultimate provides an enormous advantage to students seeking a broader, more global perspective in their research.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
With over 3.1 million records, and growing by over 160,000 each year, Global Health is the only specialist database dedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research by providing unmatched access to all the world’s relevant public health research and practice.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Video Streaming Platform for psychotherapy and counseling videos.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Content includes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. [EBSCO]
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text journals from Elsevier Science focusing primarily on the sciences but includes disciplines such as arts and humanities, management, and the social sciences.
Google Scholar (not on proxy) This link opens in a new window
The 'Get it' links on Google scholar are currently down and should be fixed in March. Click directly to the article to see if CBU has access.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is the authoritative bibliographic database for sociology research. It offers millions of indexed records from top sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
SPORTDiscus with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 530 publications
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
This collection of ebooks provides access to 800+ reputable reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) supporting most academic disciplines.

Referencing Nursing Reference Center Plus in APA 7

Nursing Reference Center Plus contains a number of sources including "Quick Lessons", "Evidence-Based Care Sheets", "Patient Handouts", and more. These sources are unique to this database and are updated frequently, so use the following format to create a reference for a Nursing Reference Center Plus source:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year, Month Day). Title of article: Article subtitle. Nursing Reference Center
Plus. https://www.permalinkURL

To find the information needed to create the reference, look at the article record. Find the permalink by clicking on the permalink icon on the right-hand side of the article record.

The reference for this article is:

Schub, T., & Avital, O. (2021, July 23). Abdominal aortic aneurysm. Nursing Reference Center

Plus. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nup&AN=T704248&site=nup-live&scope=site&custid=s9076023

The in-text citation is: (Schub & Avital, 2021)

Nursing Reference Center Plus - Tutorial

This tutorial demonstrates the features of EBSCO's new Nursing Reference Center Plus interface. Nursing Reference Center Plus provides staff nurses and nurse educators with a resource that supports education goals, encourages residents and students to access the original research, and provides options for patient care while preserving and supporting the essential learning opportunities that educators want to provide.

CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial

This tutorial demonstrates the basic searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost. Additional functionality available from the CINAHL Plus, CINAHL Plus with Full Text and CINAHL Complete databases is also included.

CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial

This tutorial demonstrates the advanced searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost. Additional functionality available from the CINAHL Plus, CINAHL Plus with Full Text and CINAHL Complete databases is also included.

Joanna Briggs Institute Tutorial

This video will assist you in searching Joanna Briggs Institute database. Link provided with permission of South Carolina University Libraries. (4:19 with audio).

PubMed: Find articles on a topic

A brief tutorial on how to find articles on a topic using PubMed.

PubMed Subject Search: How it Works

A brief tutorial on how automatic term mapping and explosion enhance your PubMed search.

PubMed: Find the Latest Treatments for a Disease or Disorder

A brief tutorial on how to find the latest treatments for a disease or disorder using PubMed.

MeSH Tutorial for PubMed (MEDLINE)
PubMed® is the National Library of Medicine’s® (NLM) free, searchable bibliographic database supporting scientific and medical research. It contains more than 37 million citations and abstracts of biomedical and life sciences literature. This tutorial will review how to search PubMed (MEDLINE) using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) it's controlled vocabulary.