Dynamic Health Support from Nova Scotia Health
Dynamic Health is an evidence-based tool designed to help nurses and allied health professionals master skills, obtain fast answers to questions, and foster a culture of evidence-based practice and critical thinking leading to improved patient outcomes.
This tool belongs to Nova Scotia Health and can be access during clinical rotations.
It provides evidence-based resources designed to help nurses and allied health professionals find guidance on care interventions and to obtain fast, accurate answers to clinical questions. It also includes a skills and procedures feature with workplace notes created by Nova Scotia Health staff on an ongoing basis, adding local context alongside best evidence.
To find out more please see the Dynamic Health Support guide on the Nova Scotia Health library site.
Explaining Diagnosis
Diagnosketch : A Visual Guide to Medical Diagnosis for the Non-Medical AudiencePublication Date: 2022Diagnosketch is a one-of-a-kind visual book that helps explain medical diagnoses to a non-medical audience. It simplifies human anatomy and pathophysiology into memorable, patient-friendly, understandable images. Diagnosketch covers bread and butter diagnoses seen in acute care settings: kidney stones, diverticulitis, back pain, gallstones, ovarian cysts, arthritis, and more.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History TakingCall Number: RC 76 B378 2024Publication Date: 2023
Clinical Assessment: A Survival GuidePublication Date: 2022Every contact with your patient is an opportunity for health assessment. Ideal for quick reference, this pocket-sized guide puts all the crucial information at your fingertips. This second edition of Clinical Assessment provides an essential overview of the topic, including new material on assessment of the acutely ill patient and the older patient. The new edition also includes resources to aid accurate neurological assessment, specifically covering aspects such as delirium and dementia. Used as a platform for wider reading, it is an ideal reference point for any nursing and healthcare student or professional.
Unfolding Health Assessment Case Studies for the Student NursePublication Date: 2020
Nursing Advanced SkillsPublication Date: 2024This is an OER CC-BY textbook of nursing skills intended for pre-licensure students. The eBook is downloadable and is free.
Nursing Procedures Made Incredibly Easy!Publication Date: 2015
Critical Care Manual of Clinical Nursing ProceduresPublication Date: 2025
Lippincott Nursing ProceduresPublication Date: 2022
Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient CarePublication Date: 2023
Lippincott Manual of Nursing PracticePublication Date: 2019
Nursing Documentation Made Incredibly Easy!Publication Date: 2018
Document Smart: The A-Z Guide to Better Nursing DocumentationPublication Date: 2020
Nursing Skills (2nd ed.)Publication Date: 2023
Nursing Skills in Supporting MobilityPublication Date: 2021
Nursing Skills in Nutrition Hydration and EliminationPublication Date: 2019
Lippincott Visual Nursing : A Guide to Clinical Diseases, Skills, and TreatmentsPublication Date: 2019
Fluids and Electrolytes Made Incredibly EasyPublication Date: 2019
Nursing Diagnosis: Application to clinical practice (15th ed.)Call Number: RT 48.6 C39 2017Publication Date: 2017
Telephone Triage Protocols for NursesPublication Date: 2021
Handbook of Signs & SymptomsPublication Date: 2015
Fischbach's a Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic TestsPublication Date: 2018
LabNotes: Guide to Lab and Diagnostic TestsPublication Date: 2015
Medical Tests in Context : Innovations and InsightsPublication Date: 2019
Care to Translate
Care to Translate is a digital medical translator for healthcare staff and patients. The app serves as a complement to human interpreters in healthcare and is available 24/7 in your smart device.
Care to Translate can be used in emergency situations as well as in daily work at the ward.
(Does have a Premium version available as an in-app purchase for $12.99)
Apple App Store Google App Store
CALD Assist
Featuring phrases commonly used during basic care interactions and screening assessments translated and recorded in 11 languages, CALD Assist facilitates basic care interactions to support patient care.
No account is required.
Apple App Store Google App Store
Google Translate
The Google Translate app is a free app that can translate text, photos, and speech in over 200 languages.
Apple App Store Google App Store
L'nui'suti
Common Mi'kmaq words and phrases for language learners
Apple App Store Google App Store
Ksite'taqn
Kick-start your child's Mi'kmaw language learning! Learn common phrases to communicate with your child in the Mi'kmaw language. Common Mi'kmaw phrases related to children and child care.
Online Tools
Nursing Virtual Case StudiesThese learner paced, interactive virtual branching case studies aim to help learners develop their noticing and clinical judgment skills. Each case study is designed to work with a specific level of learner (novice to advanced) and uses a variety of resources to help learners prepare for the experience and reflect on their actions. Concepts of patient-centered care, communication, safety and health and illness are used to demonstrate how care is provided in a variety of health care settings across the lifespan (community and acute care).
Health Case Studies: Toward Closing the Healthcare Communication GapPublication Date: 2017Health Case Studies is composed of eight separate health case studies. Each case study includes the patient narrative or story that models the best practice (at the time of publishing) in healthcare settings. Associated with each case is a set of specific learning objectives to support learning and facilitate educational strategies and evaluation.
- Geeky Medics (OSCE Clinical Skills Videos)
A comprehensive collection of clinical skills OSCE guides and OSCE stations (also relevant to PLAB 2), covering clinical examination, clinical procedures, communication skills and data interpretation. OSCE mark schemes/checklists are also included.
Facebook Twitter Instagram