Internet Resources
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- Canadian Cancer SocietyA community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer
- Canadian Institute for Health InformationProvides essential data and analysis on Canada’s health system and the health of Canadians.
- Cancer.govAccurate, up-to-date, comprehensive cancer information from the U.S. government's principal agency for cancer research.
- Caring for KidsDeveloped by the Canadian Paediatric Society, this site is designed to provide parents with information about their child's health and well-being.
- MedlinePlus GeneticsMedlinePlus Genetics provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
- Gray's Anatomy (1918) 20th editionGray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color.
- TestingHundreds of easy-to-read lab testing guides. Confidential, secure and convenient online lab test ordering powered by direct access to our laboratory partners. Compassionate customer support. We combine expert-reviewed lab test information with access to hundreds of in-lab and at-home tests.
- Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) - A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
- MedGenA tool that compiles information on genetic health conditions from multiple sources, including the Genetic Testing Registry. MedGen pages also contain links to clinical guidance and recent clinical studies related to the condition. This resources is helpful for health care providers and researchers looking for current information on the diagnosis, management, and prognosis of genetic health conditions.
- PubChemPubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. You can search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers, and find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more. PubChem may be especially useful to pharmacists and pharmacy researchers to find information relevant to drug interactions.
- Evaluating Health InformationFrom the National Library of Medicine and MedlinePlus this teaches people how to evaluate a variety of sources on the internet to determine how to find reliable sources. This also teaches people how to make proactive decisions about their health.
- PubChemPubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
- NCBI Structure DatabaseAlso called the Molecular Modeling Database. View 3D structures, locate similar compounds, and more.
- Health Literacy - Duke UniversityUse this guide to locate resources pertaining to health literacy, cultural and linguistic competency, and plain language resources.
- A Plain Language Checklist for Health Care ProfessionalsPlain language is the practice of communicating – verbally or written – in clear, simple terms that a majority of audiences can easily understand. Plain language is more than using plain words. It’s also about providing context and about the style of writing you use. This document provides tools & checklist for communicating clearly with patients. In health care plain language aims to make health information easier for patients and caregivers to understand and use.
- Plain Language at NIHPlain language is grammatically correct language that includes complete sentence structure and accurate word usage. Plain language is not unprofessional writing or a method of "dumbing down" or "talking down" to the reader. This website provides resources, tools and links to help you in creating plain language materials related to health information literacy.
- Simply Put A guide for creating easy-to-understand materialsDocument from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) that provides tools and resources to create easy to understand materials related to health information.
- Plain Language Online TrainingHere you will find helpful tips and techniques for improving your communication skills with the use of plain language.
- Easy Language - Plain Language - Easy Language Plus : Balancing Comprehensibility and AcceptabilityThis book shows how accessible communication, and especially easy-to-understand languages, should be designed in order to become instruments of inclusion. It examines two well-established easy-to-understand varieties: Easy Language and Plain Language, and shows that they have complementary profiles with respect to four central qualities: comprehensibility, perceptibility, acceptability and stigmatisation potential.
- PixabayPixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing royalty-free images, videos, audio and other media. All content is released by Pixabay under the Content License, which makes it safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for certain commercial purposes.
- The Gender Spectrum CollectionThe Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés. This collection aims to help media better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives.
- PexelsThe best free stock photos, royalty free images & videos shared by creators.
- ClipArt ETCClipArt ETC provides students and teachers with over 71,500 pieces of quality educational clipart.
- UnsplashBeautiful, free images and photos that you can download and use for any project. Better than any royalty free or stock photos.
- Wikimedia CommonsWikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone.
Diversity ExchangeVisual depictions of the health care professions often do not include ethnoculturally diverse therapists and patients. Stock videos and photos can also be expensive, limiting access to high quality resources to those who can afford to pay. We developed an online library to house photos that depict therapists and patients from diverse backgrounds performing physiotherapy skills and engaging in healthcare-related activities. The Diversity Exchange is one way to enhance teaching and learning by integrating anti-racist and anti-oppressive pedagogy ensuring our culture and practices resist and dismantle institutional racism, rather than reproducing it.
- OPENiOpen access biomedical image search engine includes clinical images, charts, etc.
- Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)A collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.
- Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)Images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL is the gateway to the Center for Disease Control's digital images.
- MedPixMedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge.
- CADTHCADTH is an independent, not-for-profit organization responsible for providing health care decision-makers with objective evidence to help make informed decisions about the optimal use of health technologies, including: drugs, diagnostic tests, medical, dental, and surgical devices and procedures. In addition to evidence, we also provide advice, recommendations, and tools.
- ClinicalTrials.govClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
- DailyMedDailyMed is an NLM database containing over 100,000 medication labels that drug companies have submitted to the FDA. This resource helps both health care professionals and patients to locate dosing instructions, potential side effects, contraindications, and more about patients' medications.
- Canadian Nurses Association (CNA)Advances the field of nursing in the interest of the public
- Nova Scotia College of NursingThe Nova Scotia College of Nursing (NSCN), regulates LPNs, RNs and NPs in Nova Scotia on behalf of the public.
- Nova Scotia Nurses Union (NSNU)The professional union representing Licensed Practical Nurses and Registered Nurses in a variety of healthcare settings
- Canadian Indigenous Nurses AssociationThe mission of the Canadian Indigenous Nurses Association is to improve the health of Aboriginal people, by supporting Aboriginal Nurses and by promoting the development and practice of Aboriginal Health Nursing.
- Canadian Black Nurses AllianceFederally Incorporated in September of 2020, the Canadian Black Nurses Alliance (CBNA) is a non-profit organization that serves to advance Canadian black nurses through empowerment, mentorship, and advocacy.
- Canadian Nursing Students’ AssociationThe Canadian Nursing Students’ Association is the national voice of Canadian nursing students. Our goal is to increase the legal, ethical, professional, and educational aspects which are an integral part of nursing. We are actively dedicated to the positive promotion of nurses and the nursing profession as a whole.
- Medical Calculators via MedscapeA variety of medical calculators organized by nursing specialty.
- Medical Calculators from MedCentralComprehensive collection of medical calculators for various healthcare professionals.
Facebook Twitter Instagram