Cultural Competency Books
Diversity and Cultural Awareness in Nursing Practice
CBU Library
(2nd Floor)
RT 86.54 D58 2023
The Health Care Professional's Guide to Cultural Competence
CBU Library
(2nd Floor)
RT 86.54 H43 2023
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care
CBU Library
(2nd Floor)
RT 86.54 A53 2020
A population health approach to health disparities for nurses : care of vulnerable populations
CBU Library
(2nd Floor)
RA 445 A67 2023
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness
CBU Library
(2nd Floor)
RA 418.5 T73 S64 2017
Disability as diversity : developing cultural competence
CBU Library
(2nd Floor)
HV 1568 A53 2020
Cultural Competencies Sheets
- Cultural Competencies SheetsNursing Reference Center provides nurses with evidence-based resources that they can access for quick nursing cultural competencies sheets that provide information on how to treat patients from diverse cultures.
Websites
- NSHA - Diversity and InclusionThe NSH subject guide on DIversity and Inclusion via the NSH Library Services
- I-Portal (Indigenous Studies Portal)From the University of Saskatchewan the Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- Native Health DatabaseThe Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.
- EthnomedEthnoMed aims to be a convenient source for social and cultural details relevant to clinical care.
- DiversicareWe have a range of general resources available, especially those from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds.
- Multicultural Health - A Guide for Health ProfessionalsA practical tool that assists health care providers to better understand the health beliefs, pre-migration experiences, communication preferences and other aspects of their clients' culture.
- Clinical ConversationsA training program for clinicians about health literacy and related concepts. This program allows clinical trainers or managers to offer brief trainings embedded into existing meetings or trainings as a way to offer continuing education that does not take time out of already busy schedules.
- Culturally ConnectedCulturallyConnected provides practical information and tools to enable health professionals to better support the health of children, youth, women, and families from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds.
- Cultural Competence Self Assessment ChecklistCultural competence is about our will and actions to build understanding between people, to be respectful and open to different cultural perspectives, strengthen cultural security and work towards equality in opportunity. Relationship building is fundamental to cultural competence and is based on the foundations of understanding each other's expectations and attitudes, and subsequently building on the strength of each other's knowledge, using a wide range of community members and resources to build on their understandings.
Diversity ExchangeVisual depictions of the health care professions often do not include ethnoculturally diverse therapists and patients. Stock videos and photos can also be expensive, limiting access to high quality resources to those who can afford to pay. We developed an online library to house photos that depict therapists and patients from diverse backgrounds performing physiotherapy skills and engaging in healthcare-related activities. The Diversity Exchange is one way to enhance teaching and learning by integrating anti-racist and anti-oppressive pedagogy ensuring our culture and practices resist and dismantle institutional racism, rather than reproducing it.
Facebook Twitter Instagram