Mental Health & Addictions Nursing
Use dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks to define terms; provide insights into concepts and theories; discover the vocabulary around your topic; and more.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
Used by clinicians, health professionals, and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, DSM-5 is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research.
Call Number: REF RC 455.2 C4 D536 2013Publication Date: 2013
DSM-5 Guidebook: The essential companion to the diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders, fifth edition by
DSM-5® Guidebook: The Essential Companion to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition is a user-friendly, supplementary guide for psychiatrists, psychologists, and other mental health practitioners who need to know how DSM-5® differs from its predecessor in terms of organizational structure, diagnostic categories, and the criteria themselves. While it does not replace the comprehensive and authoritative DSM-5®, it illuminates its content by teaching mental health professionals how to use the revised diagnostic criteria and by providing a practical context for its clinical use. The book offers many valuable features, including: * An historical overview of the development of the DSM in general, and DSM-5® in particular, a progression that might be said to mirror the evolution of psychiatry as a whole. The material on the creation of DSM-5® includes coverage of dimensional assessment, reliability and field trials, and the controversies that arose during development of DSM-5®.* An indispensable chapter on how to use DSM-5® that addresses coding, diagnostic certainty, the demise of the multiaxial system, and the key changes to each diagnostic category.* Full coverage of the significant reorganization from DSM-IV-TR® to DSM-5®, which is designed to incorporate advances in neuroscience, brain imaging and genetics. Chapters were reordered to reflect scientific advances in the understanding of psychiatric disorders, and the presumed etiological and the pathophysiological relationships among them.* Extensive coverage of the decision to integrate dimensional measures into DSM-5®, which may enhance the clinician's ability to assess symptom variation and severity and aid in patient evaluation, treatment decisions, and outcome monitoring. The various measures are presented and their use discussed.* Finally, as the authors were not part of the revision process, they offer a fresh, down-to-earth perspective that will resonate with clinicians by focusing on the changes that will most significantly impact clinicians' professional lives. DSM-5® Guidebook provides a roadmap to the many changes in this living document, DSM-5®, and will prove invaluable to psychiatrists, psychologists, psychiatric nurses, neurologists, social workers, and all who strive to understand mental illness as it is conceived today.
Publication Date: 2014
Introduction to Addictive Behaviors, 5th Edition by Publication Date: 2019
Mental Health Care for Nurses: Applying mental health skills in the general hospital by Publication Date: 2006
Lippincott's Manual of Psychiatric Nursing Care Plans by Call Number: RC 440 S3317 2013Publication Date: 2012
|
To locate other books relevant to these topics, search Novanet, "Subject contains:"
|
This list is not comprehensive. Use CINAHL, PsycInfo, and other databases to locate academic and professional literature.
Facebook Twitter Instagram