Library Glossary: C-D

Call Number – The call number tells you where books and items are located within the library (it is like an item's address). Call numbers contain a combination of letters and numbers. Items within the library have a unique call number. Due to the fact that books are arranged in sections by subject, you will be able to find other books on the same shelf or nearby that relate to the topic you are researching.

Catalogue or Novanet Catalogue – An online search tool where you can search for items held within CBU Library and in other libraries that are part of the Novanet consortium. The catalogue can be accessed here.

Circulation or Circulation Desk – The desk where you register for the library and where library materials are checked out and returned. Library materials such as reserve items, laptops, calculators, phone chargers, calculators, etc. are also located here. Library assistants and technicians work at this desk are on hand to answer questions and help you to navigate the library.

Citation – A reference to a book, article, etc. containing information required to identify and locate that particular work. It would include information such as the author’s name, title of the work, publication date, publisher and place of publication. There are different types of citations such as APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. Citation information can be found here.

Collection – Groups of related items that are shelved together in the library. The collections may include such items as books, videos, sound recordings, licensed databases, and equipment. CBU Library is home to several collections which include:

• AV – Audio Visual Collection (located at the back of the main floor of the library, 7 day loan).
• BDR – Bras d’Or Collection (located upstairs next to study room 207, non- circulating, in library use only). Please note that some of these items only have a number on the spine label (ex:1964 or BDR 1964).
• CBCU – Curriculum Collection (located on the second floor of the library across from the L Section, 3 week loan).
• CBCWC – Formally Chanie Wenjack Collection, now the Every Child Matters Learning Space (located on the first floor of the library next to the Unama’ki College Door, 7 day loan).
• CBGNC – Graphic Novel Collection (located on the second floor of the library, across from the J Section, 3 week loan)
• CBRL – Cape Breton Regional Library Collection (located on the main floor of the library, 3 week loan).
• CBUG – General Collection (located on the second floor of the library, 3 week loan).
• CD Collection – (Located on the second floor of the library, next to study room 207, 7 day loan).
• DVD – Popular DVD Collection (located at the back of the main floor of the library, 3 day loan).
• ENV – Reserve Envelopes (located on the reserves shelving unit in the Circulation Desk area, 3 hour loan).
• Khattar Collection – Located in the locked room on the second floor of the library, non-circulating (in library use only).
• Microfiche – All microfiche is located in the black cabinets in the library boardroom. These are all non-circulating (in library use only).
• Newspapers – Current issues of newspapers are located on the shelving unit located near the Circulation Desk on the main floor of the library. Older issues of newspapers are stored on the loading dock. To access these, please ask at the Circulation Desk.
• NFB – National Film Board Collection (located at the back of the main floor of the library, 7 day loan).
• OVSRZ – Oversized Collection (located next to the Reference Collection in the atrium, 3 week loan).
• PROF – Reserve Copies of Professor’s Books (located on shelving units in Circulation Desk area, loan periods vary). To access these, ask at the Circulation Desk.
• REF – Reference Collection. Quick reference resources have a large green dot located near the spine label. These are located on the book shelf next to the Research Assistance Desk. Other reference resources are located on the second floor of the library in the atrium. All of these are non-circulating (in library use only).
• Serials – Current serials (within the last year) are located on the second floor of the library in the atrium. Back issues of serials are located on the second floor of the library in the stacks before the A Section. These are all non-circulating (in library use only).
• SPCOL – Special Collections (located in the Special Collections room on the loading dock, non circulating (in library use only). To access these, ask at the Circulation Desk.

*Boardgames – There is a selection of board games available for students to borrow for 24 hours. These are located on the shelving unit in the Circulation area.

*Faculty Publications – Located on the display in the library lounge (3 week loan). These do not have a specific collection code.

*Self-Care Books – located on the second floor on the library on the bookshelf next to the de-stress area (3 week loan). These do not have a specific collection code.

Copyright –The legal rights of the owner or creator (author, playwright, painter, etc.) of intellectual property (writings, inventions, artwork, designs, symbols, etc.) to publish, reproduce, distribute or sell or use their work. The owner of a work’s copyright can prevent or allow others to use their work. Information about copyright can be found here.

Database(s) – A collection of related records that are stored electronically. Databases can be accessed via our database list.

Dewey Decimal Classification – A library classification system first developed by Melvil Dewey in the United States in 1876. With this classification system items are organized/classified by subject. This classification system is most commonly used in public libraries, and is the classification system used for the Cape Breton Regional Library. 

Due Date – This is when the item has to be returned to the library. When you check out an item from the library the date when it is due back is stamped on the due date slip located at the back of the item. You will also receive an email indicating the date that the item is due back at the library.