Skip to main content

Library Event Archives

Look here for information on recent library events.

Arnold August Cuba in the 21st century

Date: November 22, 2017 11:30am
Location: Library Student Lounge

Arnold August is a Montreal-based jounalist and author who has written several books about democracy in Cuba and its relationship with the United States administration. CBU Library recently hosted a talk by Mr. Arnold where he discussed the myths perpetuated by the Obama and Trump administrations and the U.S. corporate media. He provided invaluable insights into U.S. policy since the death of Fidel Castro in 2016.

Arnold August talks about U.S.-Cuba relations

Arnold August talks about relations between the U.S. and Cuba. Still from video by Madeline Yakimchuk.

Mr. August's work on Cuba is based on his extensive stays and research on the island since 1997. His latest book on the subject, Cuba-U.S. relations: Obama and beyond is available in the CBU Library's General Collection.

This event was co-sponsored by the Department of Communities and Connections and the CBU Library.

More information about Arnold August can be found at his website.

Donald Cameron Warrior Lawyers

Date: November 21, 2017
Location: Library Student Lounge

On November 21, CBU Library hosted Silver Donald Cameron, a Candian jounalist, playwright, author, and university teacher whose writing focuses on social justice, nature, and the environment. CBU Library is proud to house The Silver Donald Cameron Collection, which has emerged out of his generous donations.

Donald Cameron discussed different projects undertaken around the world by people trying to make a difference

Donald Cameron discussed various environmental projects undertaken by lawyers around the world.

Dr. Cameron gave a riveting talk about the many interesting individuals met during his research for his newest book, Warrior lawyers: from Manila to Manhattan: attorneys for the earth, available in the CBU Library's General Collection and Special Collection.

Display of Dr. Cameron's numerous books

Display of Dr. Cameron's numerous books.

For more details on Dr. Cameron's publications and appearances, visit his website:http://www.silverdonaldcameron.ca/.

The event was part of the series, Compassionate Communities or Living as if we Give a Damn, organized by The Sustainability Project and co-sponsored by New Dawn, the CBU Community Garden Project, the Animal Ethics Project, the Cooperative Study Club and CBU's Office of Research and Graduate Studies, the Shannon School of Business, the School of Arts and Social Sciences and the CBU Library.

Lachlan MacKinnon De-industrial Communities

Date: November 15, 2017 2:00pm
Location: Library Student Lounge

Dr. Lachlan MacKinnon was on hand for the Canadian launch of his recent edited collection entitled The deindustrialized world: confronting ruination in postindustrial places, available in the CBU Library's General Collection . The book, edited by Steven High, Andrew Perchard, and Dr. Lachlan MacKinnon, includes articles by scholars from North America, Europe, and Australia that explore issues relating to the decline of basic industry.

Dr. Lachlan MacKinnon talks about his contributions to his new book

Dr. Lachlan MacKinnon gives a talk about his new book.

Dr. Andrew Parnaby and Dr. Lachlan MacKinnon both gave interesting background about their contributions to the volume. Since the 1970s, the closure of mines, mills, and factories has marked a rupture in working-class lives. The Deindustrialized World: confronting ruination in postindustrial places interrogates the process of industrial ruination, from the first impact of layoffs in metropolitan cities, suburban areas, and single-industry towns to the shock waves that rippled outward, affecting entire regions, countries, and beyond. The pre-launch soft-cover copies for sale and signing were sold out, but you can get your copy at the CBU bookstore.

Brandon Keim Living in a more than human world

Date: November 8 1:00pm

Location: Library Student Lounge

Brandon Keim is a freelance journalist specializing in science, animals and nature. His first book, The eye of the sandpiper: stories from a living world, can be found in the CBU General Collection.

During the presentation, Mr. Keim discussed living in a more-than-human world, with a focus on scientific research on animal inner life: self-awareness, empathy, love, language, morality, culture, and community.

Brandon Keim presenting at CBU Library

Brandon Keim presenting at CBU Library. Still from video by Madeline Yakimchuk.

The event was part of the series, Compassionate Communities or Living as if we Give a Damn, organized by The Sustainability Project and co-sponsored by New Dawn, the CBU Community Garden Project, the Animal Ethics Project, the Cooperative Study Club and CBU's Office of Research and Graduate Studies, the Shannon School of Business, the School of Arts and Social Sciences and the CBU Library.

More information about Brandon Keim and his work can be found here.