LibGuides: Public Health: Emergency Preparedness

Canadian Disaster Database

Canadian Disaster Database (Geospacial View)
The Canadian Disaster Database (CDD) contains detailed disaster information on more than 1,000 natural, technological and conflict events (excluding war) that have happened since 1900 at home or abroad and that have directly affected Canadians. The geospatial view displays disasters on a map and allows you to search using a spatially-defined area.
Canadian Disaster Database (Standard View)
The Canadian Disaster Database (CDD) contains detailed disaster information on more than 1,000 natural, technological and conflict events (excluding war) that have happened since 1900 at home or abroad and that have directly affected Canadians. The standard view displays the results in a table.

Books & eBooks

Technology and Emergency Management

CBU Library 2nd Floor
HV 551.2 P56 2018

Current and Emerging Trends in the Management of International Disasters

Boots on the Ground : Disaster Response in Canada

Communicating emergency preparedness : strategies for creating a disaster resilient public

CBU Library 2nd Floor
HV 551.2 C635 2009

Catastrophe: Stories and Lessons From the Halifax Explosion

Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Emergency Preparedness and Response

Planning for Community Resilience: A handbook for reducing vulnerability to disasters

Handbook of Disaster Policies and Institutions

Emergency Management Compliance Manual, Second Edition

Disaster Management Handbook

Emergency Preparedness Through Community Cohesion

Emergency Public Health: Preparedness and Response

Environmental Disaster Management

Introduction to Emergency Evacuation : Getting Everybody Out When It Counts

Landesman's Public Health Management of Disasters: The practical guide

Managing the Risks of Extreme Events and Disasters to Advance Climate Change Adaptation

Multilevel Governance and Emergency Management in Canadian Municipalities

Principles of Emergency Planning and Management

Journals

Websites

Public Safety Canada
This federal department of the Canadian government builds and implements national policies for emergency management and national security. This includes specific information pages for businesses, communities, governments, first responders, educators and more. The Emergency Management contains policy and documents related to emergency preparedness, prevention and mitigation, disaster recovery, disaster response, and emergency management in Indigenous communities. Of particular note is the Canadian Disaster Database.
Emergency Preparedness and Response, Public Health Agency of Canada
Canada's central coordinating point for public health security issues. Contains policy, publications, guidelines and general information about public health security and pandemic preparedness.
Environment Canada: Environmental Emergencies
Provides information about policy, regulations, documents, and legislation related to pollution emergencies.
Alberta
Emergency Management Alberta
British Columbia
Provincial Emergency Program
Manitoba
Emergency Measures Organization
New Brunswick
Emergency Measures Organization
Newfoundland & Labrador
Emergency Measures Organization
Northwest Territories
Emergency Measures Organization
Nova Scotia
Emergency Management Office
Nunavut
Emergency Management (Contact information)
Ontario
Emergency Preparedness
Prince Edward Island
Emergency Measures Organization
Quebec / Québec (en français)
Ministère de la Sécurité publique
Saskatchewan
Emergency Management Organization
Yukon
Emergency Measures Organization
United Nations Relief Web
This web resource from the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs offers timely humanitarian information on complex emergencies and natural disasters worldwide. Includes a breakdown of emergency and disaster information by country, as well as documentation (many full-text online publications) on policy and issues for humanitarian professionals.