Public Health

• ILO Encyclopaedia of Occupational Health and Safety, 4th ed.

  • 

  The ILO Encyclopaedia of Occupational Health and Safety is a comprehensive tool for academia, journalists and the general public – anyone interested in obtaining data and other information about safety and health at work.

• Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 21st ed. by American Public Health Association

• ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window

  Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news
• Academic E-books (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

  From vendor's webpage: This collection of 141,500+ ebooks consists of multidisciplinary titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Publishers include leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press and many others.
• Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window

  Thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America, Academic Search Ultimate provides an enormous advantage to students seeking a broader, more global perspective in their research.
• Access Engineering This link opens in a new window

  Provides access to 300+ fully searchable engineering reference and textbooks. You will also find books from the popular Schaum Outlines series which provide sound introductory information in most scientific disciplines.
• Canada Commons (Formerly Canadian Electronic Library) This link opens in a new window

  This database provides searchable access to public documents issued by Canadian public policy agencies and think tanks, as well as books from 100 Canadian publishers. Documents may be downloaded in PDF; book titles are available for online access only.
• CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window

  The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. It is the most comprehensive resource for nursing research. [EBSCO]
• Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window

  The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. It includes reliable evidence from systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
• CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window

  This collection of ebooks provides access to 800+ reputable reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) supporting most academic disciplines.
• EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window

  • 

  Search and access thousands of open dissertations.
• Education Source This link opens in a new window

  Major resource for journal articles in education research. [EBSCO]
• Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window

  The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia. Use Browse Issues and Topics, World Map, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
• PsycINFO This link opens in a new window

  This database is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Content includes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. [EBSCO]
• PubMed [see also MEDLINE] This link opens in a new window

  • 

  PubMed is a freely accessible online database of biomedical journal references created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

• Canadian Institute of Public Health Inspectors (CIPHI)

  • 

  The Canadian Institute of Public Health Inspectors (CIPHI) is a national professional association that works to protect the health of all Canadians by providing certification, education, and ongoing professional competencies to environmental public health professionals (EPHPs), also known as public health inspectors (PHIs) and environmental health officers (EHOs). The EPHPs we represent play a vital role in keeping our water, food, land, air, and facilities safe.
• Canadian Pest Management Association

  All members of provincial and regional associations, including the Alberta Pest Management Association, Atlantic Pest Management Association, Manitoba Pest Management Association, Structural Pest Management Association of Ontario, Association Québécoise de Gestion Parasitaire, and Structural Pest Management Association of British Columbia, are automatically members of the Canadian Pest Management Association (CPMA) and the National Pest Management Association (NPMA).
• Canadian Public Health Association

  Founded in 1910, the Canadian Public Health Association is the independent voice for public health in Canada with links to the international community. As the only Canadian non-governmental organization focused exclusively on public health, we are uniquely positioned to advise decision-makers about public health system reform and to guide initiatives to help safeguard the personal and community health of Canadians and people around the world. Our members believe in universal and equitable access to the basic conditions that are necessary to achieve health for all.
• National Collaborative Centre for Environmental Health

  This centre focuses on the health risks associated with the physical environment and identifies evidence-based interventions to reduce those risks. Funded by the Public Health Agency of Canada through the National Collaborating Centres for Public Health program.
• Public Health Association of Nova Scotia

  PHANS is a voluntary not-for-profit organization, affiliated with the Canadian Public Health Association, whose membership is open to any individual who supports its mission.