Credo Reference
Use Credo to find definitions, background information on your topic and general information.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) by Call Number: REF RC 455.2 C4 D536 2013Publication Date: 2013
DSM-5 guidebook: The essential companion to the diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders, fifth edition by
DSM-5® Guidebook: The Essential Companion to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition is a user-friendly, supplementary guide for psychiatrists, psychologists, and other mental health practitioners who need to know how DSM-5® differs from its predecessor in terms of organizational structure, diagnostic categories, and the criteria themselves. While it does not replace the comprehensive and authoritative DSM-5®, it illuminates its content by teaching mental health professionals how to use the revised diagnostic criteria and by providing a practical context for its clinical use. The book offers many valuable features, including: * An historical overview of the development of the DSM in general, and DSM-5® in particular, a progression that might be said to mirror the evolution of psychiatry as a whole. The material on the creation of DSM-5® includes coverage of dimensional assessment, reliability and field trials, and the controversies that arose during development of DSM-5®.* An indispensable chapter on how to use DSM-5® that addresses coding, diagnostic certainty, the demise of the multiaxial system, and the key changes to each diagnostic category.* Full coverage of the significant reorganization from DSM-IV-TR® to DSM-5®, which is designed to incorporate advances in neuroscience, brain imaging and genetics. Chapters were reordered to reflect scientific advances in the understanding of psychiatric disorders, and the presumed etiological and the pathophysiological relationships among them.* Extensive coverage of the decision to integrate dimensional measures into DSM-5®, which may enhance the clinician's ability to assess symptom variation and severity and aid in patient evaluation, treatment decisions, and outcome monitoring. The various measures are presented and their use discussed.* Finally, as the authors were not part of the revision process, they offer a fresh, down-to-earth perspective that will resonate with clinicians by focusing on the changes that will most significantly impact clinicians' professional lives. DSM-5® Guidebook provides a roadmap to the many changes in this living document, DSM-5®, and will prove invaluable to psychiatrists, psychologists, psychiatric nurses, neurologists, social workers, and all who strive to understand mental illness as it is conceived today.
Publication Date: 2014
Key Concepts in Developmental Psychology by Publication Date: 2007
Key Concepts in Health Psychology by Publication Date: 2008
- Oxford Handbooks Online- Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
The Psychologist's Companion: A guide to scientific writing for students and researchers by
This book is a guide to scientific communication for students and researchers in psychology and related subjects. It is unique in that it combines under one cover practically everything the reader needs to know to communicate effectively in articles, books, grant proposals, prospectuses, talks, and lectures. The emphasis is on tips and practical advice that social scientists can actually use to improve communication. Robert Sternberg reviews rules for effective prose in a variety of formats, debunks common misconceptions about writing, highlights commonly misused words and gives instruction on the preparation of tables, figures, and bibliographies. For the third edition, the author has added entirely new chapters on 'How to Win Acceptances from Psychology Journals: Twenty-One Tips for Better Writing', 'Writing a Grant or Contract Proposal', 'Writing Book Proposals' and 'Writing a Lecture', and has expanded the chapter on 'References for the Psychology Paper'. He has also updated the volume's references. This book is an essential purchase for all psychologists and aspiring psychologists.
Publication Date: 2003
Facebook Twitter Instagram