LibGuides: Reference Resources: Print Reference Resources

Print Reference Resources

The print Reference collection is located above the atrium on the second floor. A smaller, Quick Reference collection sits next to the Research Assistance Desk. Books shelved in these locations cannot be borrowed.

Browse the Shelves

Use Library of Congress (LC) Codes to browse the relevant Reference Collection shelf (codes are discipline-specific).
Print reference books' call numbers begins with the letters REF.
Some reference-type books are also located in the Library's General collection. Use the LC Codes to browse the library's stacks (shelves) to locate potential resources.

Search Novanet

1. Search by Reference Book Type and Discipline

Type the topic or discipline and the type of reference resource you're looking for in the Novanet search box.
Examples:
   encyclopedia psychology
   dictionary ecology
   handbook marketing
(dictionary OR encyclopedia OR handbook) AND (biology OR "life sciences")

Sample Novanet Search
In this search, we locate encyclopedias relevant to the study of Psychology.
Note, we limited our results to:
1. Books
2. Cape Breton University

2. Known Title Search

If you know the exact title of the resource you're looking for, type it, using quotes, in the search box.
Example:
"Latin names explained: A guide to the scientific classification of reptiles, birds & mammals"

HINT: Use filters located to the left of your Novanet search results to limit to:

Resource Type - Books
Library - Cape Breton University