Credo Reference
Use Credo to find definitions, background information on your topic and general information.
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology by
The study of food and nutrition covers many disciplines, ranging from agriculture, biology, physics and chemistry to food technology, nutrition and medicine. As research on the links between food and health continues to expand, it is more important than ever that specialists in such areas as food processing and nutrition be familiar with the often unfamiliar terminology that differing disciplines use. This classic book meets that need. It provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology (an increase of 20% from the previous edition). The book also includes nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.
Publication Date: 2006
CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition by
Following in the tradition of its popular predecessors, the CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition, Third Edition explains hundreds of terms commonly used in medicine, food science, metabolism, physiology, and nutrition. Thoroughly updated and expanded to reflect major advances over the past decade, this reference lists entries alphabetically and cross-references them when multiple terms are used for the same definition. Each entry is followed either by a definition, paragraph, essay, composition, article, or feature article. Many of the more complex entries are supported with figures or tables. New Material in the Third Edition Gut hormones and their functions Food intake recommendations New drugs with nutritional applications Novel discoveries of transport and messenger proteins Gene polymorphisms involved in nutritional responses A compilation of terms of interest to the nutritionist and non-nutritionist, this book is an alphabetical list of medical terms, drugs, biochemical, genetic and physiological terms relevant to understanding the need for and use of nutrients.
Call Number: REF QP 141 B523 2011Publication Date: 2011
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets by Publication Date: 2013
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels by Publication Date: 2017
Handbook for Nutritional Assessment Through Life Cycle by
Nutritional assessment has been considered as a cornerstone of nutritional diagnosis, management, intervention and dietary planning. Specific criteria, methods and procedures should be used for different age groups through a person's life cycle based on the requirements of each age group. Use of precise and accurate nutritional assessment tools and procedure to detect those who are malnourished or at risk of malnutrition will help dietitians to create an accurate dietary plan and intervention, which may help in quality of life improvement. This handbook includes the details of each assessment method for different age groups, from pregnancy to old age. It will be used as a quick, practical guide and reference for clinical dietitians. It includes dietary, anthropometric, biochemical and clinical assessments.
Publication Date: 2016
Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics by
Fully updated, the Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics is a practical quick-reference to the vital and valued subject of nutrition in the prevention and treatment of disease and the maintenance of good health. This handbook will be an invaluable companion for all dieticians, nutritionists, and nurses, as well as doctors and students in a variety of specialities. Concise and bulleted, this handbook takes an integrated approach which facilitates the linksbetween all aspects of nutrition and dietetics. Including nutritional science and based on clinical evidence. Sections on obesity and a new chapter on international nutrition are timely and topical. Alsoincludes information on nutrition assessment, popular diets, nutrition in systems-based diseases, rarer conditions, as well as helpful lists of foods rich in or free from certain nutrients and normal range guides and handy reference values.
Publication Date: 2012
Facebook Twitter Instagram