Credo Reference
Use Credo to find definitions, background information on your topic and general information.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development by Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Middle Grades Education, 2nd ed. by Publication Date: 2016
The Greenwood Dictionary of Education by
This book defines over 3,000 terms from the field of education to assist those charged with teaching students to become global citizens in a rapidly changing, technological society. * 3,050 A-Z entries, including over 400 new and revised definitions * 128 contributors from a variety of specialized areas related to education * Three tables and graphs to illustrate specific aspects of mathematics and evaluation in education * An introduction on education terminology by editors John W. Collins and Nancy Patricia O'Brien, distinguished librarians in the study of education * Author attributions for each definition * An extensive, updated bibliography of sources that identify and explain terms used within education
Publication Date: 2011
Key Concepts in Education by
Provides students with over 100 essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice. Co-authored to draw on experiences of working within academia, local authorities and the classroom, the entries provide:a definition of the concept a description of the historical and practical context an explanation of how the concept is applied an evaluation of the concept helpful references and suggested further reading.This book will be essential reading for students of Education, and an invaluable reference tool for their professional careers.
Publication Date: 2008
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Classroom Management by
A teacher's ability to manage the classroom strongly influences the quality of teaching and learning that can be accomplished. Among the most pressing concerns for inexperienced teachers is classroom management, a concern of equal importance to the general public in light of behavior problems and breakdowns in discipline that grab newspaper headlines. But classroom management is not just about problems and what to do when things go wrong and chaos erupts. It's about how to run a classroom so as to elicit the best from even the most courteous group of students. An array of skills is needed to produce such a learning environment. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Classroom Management raises issues and introduces evidence-based, real-world strategies for creating and maintaining well-managed classrooms where learning thrives. Students studying to become teachers will need to develop their own classroom management strategies consistent with their own philosophies of teaching and learning. This work aims to open their eyes to the range of issues and the array of skills they might integrate into their unique teaching styles. Key Features: 325 signed entries organized in A-to-Z fashion across two volumes Reader's Guide grouping related entries thematically References/Further Readings and Cross-References sections Chronology in the back matter Resource Guide in the appendix This encyclopedia is an excellent scholarly source for students who are pursuing a degree or position in the field of education. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Classroom Management is an ideal source for all academic and public libraries. Read George Scarlett's interview with TuftsNow about the encyclopedia here!
Publication Date: 2015
SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Technology by Publication Date: 2015
SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction by
The SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction emerges from a concept of curriculum and instruction as a diverse landscape defined and bounded by schools, school boards and their communities, policy, teacher education, and academic research. Each contributing author was asked to comprehensively review the research literature in their assigned topic. These topics, however, are defined by practical places on the landscape e.g. schools and governmental policies for schools. Key Features: o Presents a different vision or reconceptualization of the field o Provides a comprehensive and inclusive set of authors, ideas, and topics o Takes a global rather than North American parochial approach o Recognizes that curriculum and instruction is broader in scope than is suggested by university research and theory o Reflects post-1992 changes in curriculum policy, practice and scholarship o Represents a rethinking of how school subject matter areas are treated. Teacher education is included in the Handbook with the intent of addressing the role and place of teacher education in bridging state and national curriculum policies and curriculum as enacted in classrooms.
Publication Date: 2007
Facebook Twitter Instagram