Skip to Main Content

L'nu & Indigenous Studies

Search Novanet!

You have access to thousands of books at CBU. Start your search in Novanet! You can also search for ebooks directly using the database list: Database List > All Database Types > eBook collections.   

Note: you're not limited to our library, you can borrow library books from other universities and colleges across Nova Scotia through our Novanet Express or interlibrary loan service. 

Or go to Advanced Search

Novanet Classic

Finding Materials with CBU's Library

A few keywords that can be useful for your searches are:

Indigenous Aboriginal "First Nation" Inuit Métis
"Indigenous Peoples of North America" Native Indian Name of Nation or Community (e.g. Potlotek) Indigenous place names (e.g. Mi'kma'ki)
  • Use quotation marks when searching phrases (e.g. "First Nation")
  • Use a question mark to search for words with the same stem (e.g. Methods? retrieves Method, Methods, Methodology, Methological, etc.)
  • While using the CBU library and other search engines, the dominant structure for organizing information is from a western perspective. For this reason you may need to use outdated (sometimes offensive) terminology to find resources; do not hesitate to contact me for assistance navigating this.

The Chanie Wenjack Legacy Collection - ReconciliACTIONs

For topics related to reconciliation, browse the Chanie Wenjack Legacy Collection located in the Legacy Space on the first floor of the library. You can also browse the collection in the Novanet catalogue using the code: CBCWC.

The Downey Wenjack Legacy Room is a safe and informative space committed to reconciliation and ReconciliACTIONs:

Legacy Spaces are designated spaces dedicated to providing accurate information regarding Indigenous history and our journey of reconciliation. The spaces are meant to be safe and welcoming places where conversations about the past, present and future are facilitated and encouraged. They also serve as symbols and reminders for employees, clients, students and guests of the important work each of us needs to do if the promises of this country are to be fulfilled. (Downie Wenjack Fund, 2018, para. 2).  

CBU Library is committed to making this space available and accessible to our library community. Types of resources include print monographs, DVDs, and CDs. Items included in this collection can be borrowed for 7 days (artifacts cannot be borrowed).