MIKM 2701
MIKM 2701:Learning from Knowledge Keepers of Mi’kma’ki is Cape Breton University’s first free, online, open-access, share-with-the world Indigenous course. This course is free and open to the public, but it is also available as a CBU course credit.
News & Periodicals
- CBC Indigenous CBC is recognizing National Indigenous History Month and National Indigenous Peoples Day with a broadcast, streaming and audio lineup of original series and special programming that showcases First Nations, Métis and Inuit perspectives and experiences
- Mi'kmaq Maliseet Nations News The print newspapers are available at the newspaper section in the Library.
- Nation Talk "Incorporated in 2006, by Aboriginal entrepreneur Don Barraclough, NationTalk started as a newswire and listing service that aggregated information relevant to the Aboriginal communities in Canada."
- Native Council of Nova Scotia "The Native Council of Nova Scotia is the self-governing authority for the large community of Mi'kmaq/Aboriginal peoples residing off-reserve in Nova Scotia throughout traditional Mi'kmaq territory." NCNS publishes Taliaq Mi’kma’ki, "a quarterly Community information newsletter of the Native Council of Nova Scotia", which is available online.
- Turtle Island News - National Turtle Island News is a national native weekly newspaper and publishes every week at the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in Southern Ontario.
Podcasts and Blogs
- iPortal The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. On its homepage it provides recommendations and links to different blogs and podcasts.
- Mi'kmaq Matters A podcast about Mi'kmaq people, politics, land, and water.
- The Secret Life of Canada The Secret Life of Canada is a podcast about the country you know and the stories you don't. Join hosts Leah-Simone Bowen and Falen Johnson as they reveal the beautiful, terrible and weird histories of this land. Season 4 launches February 3, 2022, with episodes releasing twice a month.
- Telling Our Twisted Histories Words connect us. Words hurt us. Indigenous histories have been twisted by centuries of colonization. Host Kaniehti:io Horn brings us together to decolonize our minds– one word, one concept, one story at a time.
- This Place Based on the acclaimed graphic novel anthology, This Place is a 10-part journey through one-hundred and fifty years of Indigenous resistance and resilience. Through dramatizations and interviews, along with your host and time-guide storyteller Rosanna Deerchild, the series reveals the heroes, battles, triumphs and traditions which live outside and beyond the national story we have been taught ... to learn, to share, and to heal the future of "this place" we call Canada.
- Unreserved Unreserved is the radio space for Indigenous voices – our cousins, our aunties, our elders, our heroes. Rosanna Deerchild guides us on the path to better understand our shared story. Together, we learn and unlearn, laugh and become gentler in all our relations.
- Emerging Indigenous Protected and Conserved Areas: The Unama’ki Mi’kmaw IPCA Project This blog is based on a presentation requested from the Conservation through Reconciliation Partnership (CRP) to the Williams Treaties First Nations in February 2021. It provides a report on the Unama’ki Institute of Natural Resources’ (UINR) efforts to establish an Indigenous and Protected Areas (IPCA). We hope that the blog can inform Indigenous-led conservation efforts across Canada, specifically around emerging IPCAs.
Recommended Databases
- CBC Curio CBC Curio includes a content themes for Indigenous Youth, Indigenous language Revitalization, Truth and Reconciliation in Canada, Indigenous Education, Indigenous Films, etc.
- Criterion On Demand This database provides users with easy access to educationally relevant feature films used in Canadian Higher Education Institutions such as Indian Horse (2018), Beans (2020), Night Raiders (2021), Blood Quantum (2019), etc.
- iPortal The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. To find media content, you can limit what resource type you want to search such as "Media> Film and Video", "Media> Sound Recordings", etc.
- NFB Campus (National Film Board) Access to over 500 films, interactive projects and easy-to-use tools that allow you to explore and present NFB content in the classroom. New users must become NFB Members. Some key Indigenous content creators are Catherine Anne Martin, Alanis Obomsawin, and many more.
"After I fasted in Kootenay Plains Alberta I told my story of how I cried for my people because we were losing our ways, and how I could help restore our spirit through this song because thats what we need to do. Honor and respect ourselves as a people and help one another as the creator has placed us upon mother earth. We must strive for peace and understanding for a spiritual way."
According to the Mi'kmaq Spirit website, Kepmite'tmnej, "the Mi'kmaw Honour Song, was received in the sweatlodge by George Paul in the 1980s". George Paul, a singer-songwriter from the Metepenagiag First Nation (Red Bank), New Brunswick, "has been involved with the Traditional Movement in reviving Mi'kmaw songs, chants, and ceremonies for over thirty years." The Mi'kmaw Honour Song "features a combination of meaningful text in Mi'kmaq and vocables, and it is generally repeated four times."
Archives
- Beaton Institute's Digital Archive The Beaton Institute's digitized audio and video recordings can be found on its Soundcloud and YouTube Channel. Many recordings feature Mi'kmaq culture, language and its people.
- Membertou Heritage Park's Archive The Membertou Heritage Park's Archive provides access to videos and audio recordings of Membertou's people and its' past.
- The Mi'kmaw Native Friendship Centre This archive allows for people to hear the language and songs of this land, see the dances, and gain first-hand knowledge of the experience of those who have always called this land their home. If using these audio or video recordings for research than please follow the organizations guidelines.
This recording features various Elders sharing their stories in the Mi'kmaw language including Anthony Morris, Nancy Googoo, Nora Bernard, Bernie Marshall, William Googoo, Sandy Julien, Joey Gould, Bridget Denny, and Margaret Johnson (Dr. Granny). The recording was produced for the Centre of Excellence within the Eskasoni School Board, by Mi'kmaq Wowkwis Video Productions which was operated by Aluin Marshall and Barry Bernard.
Date of Creation: [between 1990-2003]
This recording contains various traditional and non-traditional cover songs sung in the Mi'kmaw language by Sarah Denny, Noel R. Denny and Janice Denny at the Rebecca Cohn Auditorium in Halifax, NS on August 21, 1975.
0:00-2:25- Yellow Bird (Sung in Mi’kmaq)- Sarah Denny
2:35-5:17- Friendship Song- Sarah Denny
5:20-7:35- Celebration Song (I’ko’)- Janice Denny
7:42-8:30- Ko’jua - Noel R. Denny
8:40-9:45- Ko’jua- Sarah Denny
9:53-10:13- Thanks to audience
Facebook Twitter Instagram