Skip to main content

Learning

Library Workshops

Welcome to SASS Library Workshops. All videos include captioning and audio. *apologies in advance for my pirate Nova Scotian accent, arrrrrhh = our OR are. Get it? My Boolean reference. Don't worry, you will after workshop 102.*  - K-Lee Fraser, Librarian.

 

For video playlist and transcripts, please visit the following link: https://screencast-o-matic.com/u/QFRr/SASSLibraryWorkshops

Navigating the Website - Start Here

Before watching the workshops below, please watch the video demonstrating how to navigate the website. This video provides an overview of resources and services offered at the library. 

Workshop 101 | 102

Search Strategies in Workshop 101/102 :

Database(s) Booleans Limits Exact Phrase Select Databases 

Novanet Discovery Catalogue

Ebsco Databases (e.g., Academic Search Ultimate, SportsDiscuss, MLA)

AND = combine keywords

OR = link related terms or synonyms

NOT = exclude a keyword or term

Narrow your search by criteria (e.g., peer-review, date, location, ebooks, etc.) phrases/titles in quotations to find phrase in order (e.g. "university students") Select the related databases for your topic to find relevant information (e.g., working on a Philosophy topic, select Philosopher's Index)

 

Workshop 103 | Honours

Search Strategies in Workshop 103:

Database(s) Proximity Wildcard Truncation
Jstor

NEAR # -->located in the drop down under AND ( e.g., Sports NEAR 5 history)

 

? --> Replaces one letter (e.g., wom?n will find woman and women)

* --> searches for unlimited word endings (suffixes) (e.g., histor* finds history, historian, histories, etc.)

Ebsco Databases N# (e.g., community N5 services) #  --> Replaces one letter (e.g., wom?n will find woman and women) * --> searches for unlimited word endings (suffixes) (e.g., histor* finds history, historian, histories, etc.)

 

Video coming soon...

 

Search Strategies in Workshop Honours:

Database(s) Subject Headings Combine Search Strategies Save your search!
Ebsco Databases

Find the databases' keywords and terms that are used to describe the articles.

Using the search history, Combine multiple searches with your keywords and subject terms (example: S1 OR S2 OR S3).

Then, combine your broader concepts with the boolean AND (example: S4 AND S7)

Save your search history by making a free EBSCO account or downloading a PDF/HTML copy of your history. This allows you to add the new keywords or concepts you learn to your search. 

You can also get alerts for new research available!

Research Notes Template : This template may help you to organize your research and writing. Also, it helps with organizing and remembering your citations!