Use the databases listed below to find scholarly articles.
Note: There are over 100 CBU article databases. Try searching for your topic in other areas of study, such as health, education, history, psychology, tourism,etc. Browse the full list of databases or sort databases by subject. Example: Databases A-Z > Education.
Recommended Databases
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (formerly Bibliography of Native North Americans) contains more than 190,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of content coverage range from the 16th century to the present. This database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians, ethnobotanists and policy makers.
- iPortal This link opens in a new window The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window Gain insight into the cultural, political, and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth to the twentieth century.
- Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window Canadian documentary heritage including books, newspapers, periodicals, images and nationally-significant archival materials in specialized searchable databases.
- CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window Fulltext of Canadian journals, magazines and newspapers, including The Globe & Mail. [GALE]
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America, Academic Search Ultimate provides an enormous advantage to students seeking a broader, more global perspective in their research.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Content from top Business trade publications, journals, country reports, market reports plus company profiles.
- ERIC (EBSCO Interface) This link opens in a new window Contains more than 1.5 million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window The go-to archival database of scholarly journals. Does not provide access to the last four or five years of journal issues.
- MLA - Modern Languages Association, International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. [EBSCO]
Scholarly? Peer-reviewed?
Have you heard your professor use the terms "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" sources before?
These terms describe research articles that have been critically examined by other scholars in the same field.
To limit your search to only scholarly articles you can select the "scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals" option in the database. If you're still not sure if the article is peer-reviewed, visit the journal's website.
The Structure of a Scholarly (Academic) Article
This is an example of a structure of an academic scholarly paper, though there may be variations:
| Abstract | Summarizes the content within the paper and sometimes outlines keywords in the paper |
| Introduction | Introduces a problem and provides a solution to that problem, whether it is a new idea or a plan of action. Also, it outlines the structure of the paper |
| Literature Review | Identifies past and current research on the topic and any gaps in the existing knowledge |
| Methodology | Explains what method the author(s) chose for conducting their study (e.g. Case studies, personal reflections, surveys/questionnaires, interviews, focus groups, etc.) |
| Results | Explains the results of the study |
| Discussion & Conclusion | Interprets the results, discusses the limitations of the method that they used, and/or makes recommendations based on their findings |
Reading and Evaluating Articles
Facebook Twitter Instagram