You have access to thousands of books at CBU. Start your search in Novanet! You can also search for ebooks directly using the database list: Database List > All Database Types > eBook collections.
Note: you're not limited to our library, you can borrow library books from other universities and colleges across Nova Scotia through our Novanet Express or interlibrary loan service.
Need Definitions or Background Information?
Have you used Wikipedia to look up definitions before? Try using the Oxford English Dictionary or a scholarly resource like CREDO Reference Service. CREDO includes definitions, eBooks, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
- CREDO Reference This link opens in a new windowThis collection of ebooks provides access to 800+ reputable reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) supporting most academic disciplines.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe accepted authority for definitions and etymology of words in English.
Special Collections at CBU
- Bras d'Or Collection The Bras d’Or Collection has over 1,700 records (e.g., documents, reports and studies) related to Cape Breton Island's history, economy, natural resources and environment.
- The Vince MacLean Jacobite Collection Consisting of some 260 books and pamphlets on 18th century Scottish and Canadian History, the Jacobite Collection augments the Library's other collections of Scottish materials.
- The Scottish Collection The Scottish Collection of Cape Breton University is a special collection of approximately 2,100 books dealing with the history, literature, religion and culture of Scotland and of Gaelic speaking peoples.
- The Dr. Thomas J. Khattar Collection This eclectic assemblage includes published material and ephemera on the early history and culture of Cape Breton Island; the political and social history of New France, Nova Scotia and Canada; mining and fishing; poultry husbandry and cockfighting; sporting interests; geography and literature.
- Gerald L. Pocius Folkore Collection The collection, currently consisting of several thousand items, features an interdisciplinary scope, covering a variety of subject areas within folklore and popular culture; including books on music, architecture, art, myth, cooking, religion, history and more.
- Maroun-El Kady Collection of Books on the Middle-East This collection, named after two eminent individuals with roots in, and special attachment to the Middle East, will assist scholars and students in understanding a vital, fascinating and complex region, one from where CBU draws many students and which, in everyone's interest, must be better understood in Canada.
Facebook Twitter Instagram