LibGuides: History: Find Articles

Use the databases listed below to find scholarly articles.

Note: There are over 100 CBU article databases. Try searching for your topic in other areas of study, such as health, education, Mi'kmaq studies, psychology, tourism,etc. Browse the full list of databases or sort databases by subject. Example: Databases A-Z > Education.

Top Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window The go-to archival database of scholarly journals. Does not provide access to the last four or five years of journal issues.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America, Academic Search Ultimate provides an enormous advantage to students seeking a broader, more global perspective in their research.
Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window Canadian documentary heritage including books, newspapers, periodicals, images and nationally-significant archival materials in specialized searchable databases.
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window Fulltext of Canadian journals, magazines and newspapers, including The Globe & Mail. [GALE]
MLA - Modern Languages Association, International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. [EBSCO]
Philosopher's Index with Fulltext This link opens in a new window Covers fields of philosophy and related disciplines and features research published since 1940. The publications covered in this comprehensive database hail from 139 countries and appear in 37 languages.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window This free historical archive is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.
iPortal This link opens in a new window The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.