LibGuides: Indigenous Health and Nursing: Websites

Evaluating Sources

Indigenous Services of Canada: Indigenous Health Find information about health care services and non-insured health benefits (NIHB), careers, how to fight drug and substance use, environmental health, food safety and how to have a healthy pregnancy.
National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health (NCCIH): Indigenous Health Links Database Directory of research institutes and organizations conducting Indigenous health research in Canada and internationally. Created by the National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health.
National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health (NCCIH): Indigenous Health Researchers Database Directory of researchers affiliated with Canadian universities who have expertise in Indigenous health. Created by the National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health.
National Aboriginal Health Organization The NAHO is a knowledge based organization that excels in the advancement and promotion of health and well-being of all First Nations. Inuit, and Metis individuals, families, and communities.
Indigenous Health Research Advisory Committee The Indigenous Health Research Advisory Committee (IHRAC) is a working group of the Chronic Pain Network, comprised of community members, Elders, patients, clinicians and health researchers from across Canada.
Tajikeimɨk Tajikeimɨk is the new and developing health and wellness organization being created to lead health transformation for Mi’kmaw communities in Nova Scotia.

.com (Commercial)	Commercial sites, business information, shopping, news
.edu (Education)	School information, links to libraries and departments
.gov (Government)	Statistics, public information, facts, agency, databases
.org (Organization)	Non-profit organization, interest group agencies, may try to influence public opinion
.net (Network)	Internet service provider, often sponsors personal sites

First Nations Information Governance Centre Data Online FNIGC Data Online is an online service from the First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC), Canada’s premier source of information about First Nations people living on reserve and in northern communities across Canada. This application provides unprecedented access to FNIGC’s published data in the form of charts, tables and graphs that can be exported for use in presentations, reports and academic papers.
Aboriginal Health Research - Reports and Publications (Health Canada) The government of Canada provides publications on Indigenous health in Canada, including survey results and statistics.
Statista: Indigenous Health in Canada - Statistics & Facts This database presents facts and figures on the Indigenous peoples of Canada. Also known as Native Canadians and Aboriginal Canadians, these peoples include the First Nations, Inuit, and Métis. Included in the dossier are figures regarding diseases, mental health, substance abuse, treatment, and risk factors among this population.

Nurses Voices YouTube Channel Nurses’ Voices is a unique new video and audio series that will amplify the voices of nurses to help them adapt and excel within these changing and uncertain times. They have several videos about nursing initiatives with Indigenous nurses and communities such as "The L’nu Nursing Initiative with Dawn Googoo", "Improving Accessibility and Healthcare for Indigenous People with Bev Smith," etc.
Interior Voices Interior Voices is Interior Health's Aboriginal health and wellness podcast series that explores the intersection of health and culture in the workplace, our everyday lives and patient care.
National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health (NCCIH): Podcast The NCCIH provides public access to its podcasts and speakers on various subjects about Indigenous health such as Chronic & Infectious Diseases; Child, Youth, & Family Health; Indigenous Knowledge & Public Health; etc.
Indigenous Health MedTalk Podcast Indigenous Health MedTalk covers topics related to women's and men's health, family health and wellness, mental health, sexual health and community innovations related to and affecting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.