Dalhousie Books
American Indian Health and Nursing by
" An extraordinary textbook that addresses the historical and national impact of healthcare and nursing on the American Indian... Although written for nurses, the usefulness of this healthcare textbook extends far beyond this professional practice. Anyone who wants to understand how healthcare is delivered to the American Indian population will be become well informed while immersed in this text. In this day of indigenizing the academy, including nursing, this textbook would be an excellent resource in Native Studies, Sociology, Psychology, Medicine, or Education." --Karen Doty-Sweetnam, Department of Psychiatric Nursing, Faculty of Health Studies, Brandon University, The Canadian Journal of Native Studies The first book to examine the profound disparities in American Indian health, and how they can be remedied, through a nursing lens The average life expectancy of a male born on the Pine Ridge reservation in South Dakota today is somewhere in the mid-40s'the lowest life expectancy of all peoples not only in the United States but the entire Western Hemisphere. Written by and for nurses, this is the first text to focus exclusively on American Indian health and nursing. In fact, it is likely the only nursing book to even mention American Indian health as a distinct entity. The text addresses the profound disparities in policy, health care law, and health outcomes that affect American Indians, and describes how these disparities, woven into the cultural, environmental, historical, and geopolitical fabric of American Indian society, are responsible for the marked lack of well-being among American Indians. American Indian nurse authors, natives of nine unique American Indian cultures, address the four domains of health' physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional' within each region to underscore the many stunning inequalities of opportunity for health and well-being within the American Indian culture compared with Anglo culture. In an era of cultural competency, these expert nurse authors bring awareness of what is perhaps the least understood minority population in the United States. The text covers the history of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. Included are excerpts from relevant journal articles, historical reports, interviews with tribal health officials, and case studies. The book addresses the roots of American Indian nursing, including coverage of indigenous knowledge and traditional approaches to health and healing. It examines current issues surrounding American Indian nursing, nursing education, and health care within 10 distinct American Indian cultural populations, including a crucial discussion of the health care needs of American Indians living in urban areas. KEY FEATURES: Focuses exclusively on American Indian health and nursing' the first book to do so Written by American Indian nurses Covers four domains of health: physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional Highlights nine specific cultural areas spanning Indian Country, each with its own unique history and context, with urban spaces as a final area
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2015
A Cree Healer and His Medicine Bundle by
With the rise of urban living and the digital age, many North American healers are recognizing that traditional medicinal knowledge must be recorded before being lost with its elders.A Cree Healer and His Medicine Bundleis a historic document, including nearly 200 color photos and maps, in that it is the first in which a native healer has agreed to open his medicine bundle to share in writing his repertoire of herbal medicines and where they are found. Providing information on and photos of medicinal plants and where to harvest them, anthropologist David E. Young and botanist Robert D. Rogers chronicle the life, beliefs, and healing practices of Medicine Man Russell Willier in his native Alberta, Canada. Despite being criticized for sharing his knowledge, Willier later found support in other healers as they began to realize the danger that much of their traditional practices could die out with them. With Young and Rogers, Willier offers his practices here for future generations. At once a study and a guide,A Cree Healer and His Medicine Bundletouches on how indigenous healing practices can be used to complement mainstream medicine, improve the treatment of chronic diseases, and lower the cost of healthcare. The authors discuss how mining, agriculture, and forestry are threatening the continued existence of valuable wild medicinal plants and the role of alternative healers in a modern health care system. Sure to be of interest to ethnobotanists, medicine hunters, naturopaths, complementary and alternative health practitioners, ethnologists, anthropologists, and academics, this book will also find an audience with those interested in indigenous cultures and traditions.
Call Number: E 99 C88 Y68 2015 (Killam Library)Publication Date: 2015
Declaration of Health Emergency by First Nations Communities in Northern Ontario by Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2016
Everyday Exposure: Indigenous Mobilization and Environmental Justice in Canada's Chemical Valley by
"Near the Ontario-Michigan border, Canada's densest concentration of chemical manufacturing surrounds the Aamjiwnaang First Nation. Living in the polluted heart of Chemical Valley, members of this Indigenous community report a declining rate of male births in addition to abnormal rates of miscarriage, asthma, cancer, and cardiovascular and respiratory illnesses. While starvation policies and smallpox-laced blankets might be an acknowledged part of Canada's past, this book reveals how the colonial legacy of inflicting harm on Indigenous bodies persists through a system that fails to adequately address health and ecological suffering in First Nations communities. Everyday Exposure uncovers the systemic injustices faced on a daily basis in Aamjiwnaang. By exploring the problems that Canada's conflicting levels of jurisdiction pose for the creation of environmental justice policy, analyzing clashes between Indigenous and scientific knowledge, and documenting the experiences of Aamjiwnaang residents as they navigate their toxic environment, this book argues that social and political change requires an experiential and transformative "sensing policy" approach, one that takes the voices of Indigenous citizens seriously."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2016
Health and Health Care in Northern Canada by
"Accounting for almost two thirds of the country's land-mass, Northern Canada is a vast region, host to rich natural resources and a diverse cultural heritage shared across Indigenous and non-indigenous residents. In this book, Rebecca Schiff and Helle Møller analyse health and healthcare in Northern Canada from a perspective that acknowledges the unique strengths, resilience, and innovation of northerners, while also addressing the challenges aggravated by contemporary manifestations of colonialism. Old and new forms of colonial programs and policies continue to create health and healthcare disparities in the North, which has had a profound impact on northerners. Divided into three sections, Health and Healthcare in Northern Canada paints a broad picture of primary issues that northern peoples face. Several chapters are written by northerners and utilize case studies, quotes, photographs, and other materials to highlight voices and perspectives of people living in northern Canada. In order to maintain resilience, improve the positive outcomes of health determinants, and diminish negative stereotypes, we must ensure that northerners - and their cultures, values, strengths and leadership - are at the centre of the ongoing work to achieve social justice and health equity."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781487514600Publication Date: 2021
Indigenous Healing by
Imagine a world in which people see themselves as embedded in the natural order, with ethical responsibilities not only toward each other, but also toward rocks, trees, water and all nature. Imagine seeing yourself not as a master of Creation, but as the most humble, dependent and vulnerable part. Rupert Ross explores this indigenous world view and the determination of indigenous thinkers to restore it to full prominence today. He comes to understand that an appreciation of this perspective is vital to understanding the destructive forces of colonization. As a former Crown Attorney in northern Ontario, Ross witnessed many of these forces. He examines them here with a special focus on residential schools and their power to destabilize entire communities long after the last school has closed. With help from many indigenous authors, he explores their emerging conviction that healing is now better described as "decolonization therapy." And the key to healing, they assert, is a return to the traditional indigenous world view. The author of two previous bestsellers on indigenous themes, Dancing with a Ghost and Returning to the Teachings, Ross shares his continuing personal journey into traditional understanding with all of the confusion, delight and exhilaration of learning to see the world in a different way. Ross sees the beginning of a vibrant future for indigenous people across Canada as they begin to restore their own definition of a "healthy person" and bring that indigenous wellness into being once again. Indigenous Healing is a hopeful book, not only for indigenous people, but for all others open to accepting some of their ancient lessons about who we might choose to be.
Call Number: E 78 DC2 R825i 2014 (Kellogg Library); E 78 C2 R6858 2014 (Killam Library)Publication Date: 2014
Open Access Books: Recommended Database
- BC Campus Find Open Textbooks
- BCcampus Open Education contributes to the development of an open future for teaching practices and educational resources.
- Directory of Open Access Books
- DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
- I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal
- Indigenous Studies Portal is a tool for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community to access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world. Users can access open access e-books through.
- Project Muse Open Access eBooks
- Books are made open access on MUSE through a variety of funding initiatives, including Knowledge Unlatched, NEH Humanities Open Book grants, TOME, and individual publisher programs.
Recommended Dalhousie Databases
- Canadian Electronic Library Consists of Canadian Publishers Collection, Canadian Public Policy Collection, and Canadian Health Research Collection.
- CINAHL Full Text CINAHL is a core resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982.
- Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database The Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database contains 7900 records describing publications about all aspects of human health in the circumpolar region. The database is a project of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Team in Circumpolar Health Research.
- Health Professions library guides at the Dal Libraries The above link will lead you to more extensive lists of Health-related databases and resources.
- Native Health Database (University of New Mexico) The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.
- PubMed Indexes over 4000 biomedical journals. Dates covered: late 1950's-present. Features MeSH, a powerful controlled vocabulary. Links to fulltext are incomplete, consult Novanet and E-Journals for holdings.
Dalhousie Subject Guides
Request an Item
To place a hold or request on a book or other physical item in the library:
- Sign into "My Library Account"
- Search Novanet
- Under "Get It," click on "Request"
- Choose a "Pick Up Location" and, if applicable, the date the item is "Not Needed After."
- Click on "Send Request"
Note: If Dalhousie University Library doesn't have the item, it is possible to request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Facebook Twitter Instagram