STFX Books
Covid-19, First Nations and Poor Housing by
Emergency measures are deemed universally necessary to prevent the transmission and control of COVID-19. Around the world, people are asked to: wash hands often, maintain physical distance and quarantine in your shelter (WHO, 2020, Health Canada, 2020). These are effective measures to slow down the transmission of the virus (WHO, 2020) but in communities with overcrowded homes that lack piped water and with no hospitals — how can Canada make this pipe dream a reality?
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2020
Fighting for a Hand to Hold by
Launched by healthcare providers in January 2018, the #aHand2Hold campaign confronted the Quebec government's practice of separating children from their families during medical evacuation airlifts, which disproportionately affected remote and northern Indigenous communities. Pediatric emergency physician Samir Shaheen-Hussain's captivating narrative of this successful campaign, which garnered unprecedented public attention and media coverage, seeks to answer lingering questions about why such a cruel practice remained in place for so long. In doing so it serves as an indispensable case study of contemporary medical colonialism in Quebec. Fighting for a Hand to Hold exposes the medical establishment's role in the displacement, colonization, and genocide of Indigenous peoples in Canada. Through meticulously gathered government documentation, historical scholarship, media reports, public inquiries, and personal testimonies, Shaheen-Hussain connects the draconian medevac practice with often-disregarded crimes and medical violence inflicted specifically on Indigenous children. This devastating history and ongoing medical colonialism prevent Indigenous communities from attaining internationally recognized measures of health and social well-being because of the pervasive, systemic anti-Indigenous racism that persists in the Canadian public health care system - and in settler society at large. Shaheen-Hussain's unique perspective combines his experience as a frontline pediatrician with his long-standing involvement in anti-authoritarian social justice movements. Sparked by the indifference and callousness of those in power, this book draws on the innovative work of Indigenous scholars and activists to conclude that a broader decolonization struggle calling for reparations, land reclamation, and self-determination for Indigenous peoples is critical to achieve reconciliation in Canada.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2020
Healing Histories by
Healing Histories is the first detailed collection of Indigenous perspectives on the history of tuberculosis in Canada's Indigenous communities and on the federal government's Indian Health Services. Featuring oral accounts from patients, families, and workers who experienced Canada's Indian Hospital system, it presents a fresh perspective on health care history that includes the diverse voices and insights of the many people affected by tuberculosis and its treatment in the mid-twentieth century. This intercultural history models new methodologies and ethics for researching and writing about Indigenous Canada based on Indigenous understandings of story and its critical role in Indigenous historicity, while moving beyond routine colonial interpretations of victimization, oppression, and cultural destruction. Written for both academic and popular reading audiences, Healing Histories is essential reading for those interested in Indigenous history in Canada, history of medicine and nursing, and oral histories.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2013
Indigenous Health and Wellbeing by
Indigenous burden of disease is 2.3 times that of non-Indigenous Australians; rates of psychological distress and chronic diseases are higher; there are disparities across education, housing, employment and income; access to health services is often limited and not culturally appropriate. This book examines how to effectively tackle indigenous health and disadvantage. We have 17 new Closing the Gap targets. Will governments now do what is needed to meet them?
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2022- An Introduction to Indigenous Health and Healthcare in Canada: Bridging Health and Healing by
"This book is intended primarily to provide nursing students with an accessible guide to the health of Canadian First Nations, Métis and Inuit-the Indigenous peoples of Canada. This book provides an explanation of how their values and worldview may differ from those of their colleagues but can still be accommodated within the profession"-- Provided by publisher
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2022
Open Access Books: Recommended Database
- BC Campus Find Open Textbooks
- BCcampus Open Education contributes to the development of an open future for teaching practices and educational resources.
- Directory of Open Access Books
- DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
- I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal
- Indigenous Studies Portal is a tool for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community to access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world. Users can access open access e-books through.
- Project Muse Open Access eBooks
- Books are made open access on MUSE through a variety of funding initiatives, including Knowledge Unlatched, NEH Humanities Open Book grants, TOME, and individual publisher programs.
Recommended STFX Databases
- Arctic Health Arctic Health, intended for students, researchers, and anyone with interest in health aspects of the Arctic, is a central source for information on diverse aspects of the Arctic environment and the health of northern peoples.
- Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database The Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database contains over 7000 resources discussing the health of individuals in the circumpolar region
- EBSCO CINAHL Central source for full-text articles in nursing and allied health (audiology, nutrition & dietetics, occupational, physical & respiratory therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health).
- Indigenous Studies Portal (USask) The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- Native American Ethnobotany A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants.
- Native Health Database (University of New Mexico) The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
- PubMed Comprehensive index of articles from the biomedical and life sciences. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Request an Item
To place a hold or request on a book or other physical item in the library:
- Sign into "My Library Account"
- Search Novanet
- Under "Get It," click on "Request"
- Choose a "Pick Up Location" and, if applicable, the date the item is "Not Needed After."
- Click on "Send Request"
Note: If St. Francis Xavier University Library doesn't have the item, it is possible to request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Facebook Twitter Instagram