Skip to Main Content
Reading and Evaluating Articles
CBU Recommended Journals
The Indigenous Nurse
The Aboriginal Nurses Association of Canada collects information on publication downloads. This information helps CINA gather statistics on topic interest, interest groups and helps identify the need of research into specific areas. CINA uses these statistics to apply for funding to further research and publication development.
International Indigenous Policy Journal
IIPJ is a peer-reviewed, policy-relevant research journal addressing issues pertaining to Indigenous Peoples throughout the world.
International Journal of Indigenous Health
This journal seeks to bring knowledge from diverse intellectual traditions together with a focus on culturally diverse Indigenous voices, methodologies and epistemology. The Journal is peer-reviewed, online, open-access and shares innovative health research across disciplines, Indigenous communities, and countries.
Journal of Aboriginal Health
The Journal of Aboriginal Health is an official peer-reviewed publication of the National Aboriginal Health Organization (NAHO).
Journal of Transcultural Nursing
This journal is a peer-reviewed journal that offers nurses, educators, researchers, and practitioners theoretical approaches and current research findings that have direct implications for the delivery of culturally congruent health care and for the preparation of health care professionals who will provide that care.
Pimatisiwin: A Journal of Aboriginal and Indigenous Community Health
The Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing is a peer-reviewed, open-access, scholarly online journal that shares multi-disciplinary indigenous knowledge and research experience amongst indigenous health professionals, leaders, researchers and community members. The journal publishes original, informative and scholarly articles on the broadly defined topic of indigenous wellbeing.
Rural and Remote Health
Rural and Remote Health is an open-access international academic journal serving rural and remote communities and publishing articles by rural health practitioners, educators, researchers and policy makers.
Witness: The Canadian Journal of Critical Nursing Discourse
This journal is a Canadian Peer-Reviewed Scholarly Nursing Journal.
CBU Recommended Databases
Canada Commons
This database provides searchable access to public documents issued by Canadian public policy agencies and think tanks, as well as books from 100 Canadian publishers. Documents may be downloaded in PDF; book titles are available for online access only.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. It is the most comprehensive resource for nursing research.
Gale Health and Wellness
Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases.
iPortal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Native Health Database (University of New Mexico)
This database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.
Nursing Reference Center Plus
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research etc.
PubMed
PubMed is a freely accessible online database of biomedical journal references created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Facebook Twitter Instagram