CBU Books
-
Health and Health Care in Northern Canada
by
"Accounting for almost two thirds of the country's land-mass, Northern Canada is a vast region, host to rich natural resources and a diverse cultural heritage shared across Indigenous and non-indigenous residents. In this book, Rebecca Schiff and Helle Møller analyse health and healthcare in Northern Canada from a perspective that acknowledges the unique strengths, resilience, and innovation of northerners, while also addressing the challenges aggravated by contemporary manifestations of colonialism. Old and new forms of colonial programs and policies continue to create health and healthcare disparities in the North, which has had a profound impact on northerners. Divided into three sections, Health and Healthcare in Northern Canada paints a broad picture of primary issues that northern peoples face. Several chapters are written by northerners and utilize case studies, quotes, photographs, and other materials to highlight voices and perspectives of people living in northern Canada. In order to maintain resilience, improve the positive outcomes of health determinants, and diminish negative stereotypes, we must ensure that northerners - and their cultures, values, strengths and leadership - are at the centre of the ongoing work to achieve social justice and health equity."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: R 463 N65 H43 2021Publication Date: 2021 -
Indigenous Experiences of Pregnancy and Birth
by
Traditional midwifery, culture, customs, understandings, and meanings surrounding pregnancy and birth are grounded in distinct epistemologies and worldviews that have sustained Indigenous women and their families since time immemorial. Years of colonization, however, have impacted the degree to which women have choice in the place and ways they carry and deliver their babies. As nations such as Canada became colonized, traditional gender roles were seen as an impediment. The forced rearrangement of these gender roles was highly disruptive to family structures. Indigenous women quickly lost the.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2017 -
Indigenous Health and Well-Being in the COVID-19 Pandemic
by
This book investigates the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the health and well-being of Indigenous Peoples and assesses the policy responses taken by governments and Indigenous communities across the world. Bringing together innovative research and policy insights from a range of disciplines, this book investigates the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the health and well-being of Indigenous Peoples across the world, with coverage of　North America, Central America, Africa, and Oceania. Further, it explores the actions taken by governments and Indigenous communities in addressing the challenges posed by this public health crisis. The book emphasises the social determinants of health and well-being, reflecting on issues such as self-governance, human rights law, housing, socioeconomic conditions, access to health care, culture, environmental deprivation, and resource extraction. Chapters also highlight the resilience and agency of Indigenous Peoples in combating the COVID-19 pandemic, despite the legacy of colonialism, patterns of systemic discrimination, and social exclusion. Providing concrete pathways for improving the conditions of Indigenous Peoples in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, this book is essential reading for researchers across indigenous studies, public health, and social policy.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2022 -
Indigenous Peoples
by
In this book, Chapter One addresses the diversity of Brazilian indigenous peoples, their history, and basic elements of distinct ethnic groups, such as their languages, social organization, rituals, myths, values, habits, and artistic expressions. Chapter Two describes some settings in which children learn about their way of life, in the framework of interactions with peers and more experienced people. It also explores how drawings and models made by children can tell stories about children's preferences, expectations and future horizons, and reflects on how intergenerational and peer interactions involve transmission, adaptation, questioning and innovation of knowledge and skills necessary to dwelling in changing environments. Chapter Three provides a picture of mid-20th century lifestyle practices of Eeyou women when pregnant and breastfeeding with the aim to provide information that could potentially be used to improve culturally competent prenatal and postnatal care for Eeyou women. Chapter Four discusses disparities in medication use among elder American Indians. Chapter Five provides a conceptual overview of mental health disparities, historical realities, and sociocultural barriers of American Indians and Alaska natives.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2016 -
An Introduction to Indigenous Health and Healthcare in Canada: Bridging Health and Healing
by
"This book is intended primarily to provide nursing students with an accessible guide to the health of Canadian First Nations, Métis and Inuit-the Indigenous peoples of Canada. This book provides an explanation of how their values and worldview may differ from those of their colleagues but can still be accommodated within the profession"-- Provided by publisher
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2022 -
Medicine Women: The Story of the First Native American Nursing School
by
After the Indian wars, many Americans still believed that the only good Indian was a dead Indian. But at Ganado Mission in the Navajo country of northern Arizona, a group of missionaries and doctors--who cared less about saving souls and more about saving lives--chose a different way and persuaded the local parents and medicine men to allow them to educate their daughters as nurses. The young women struggled to step into the world of modern medicine, but they knew they might become nurses who could build a bridge between the old ways and the new. In this detailed history, Jim Kristofic traces the story of Ganado Mission on the Navajo Indian Reservation. Kristofic's personal connection with the community creates a nuanced historical understanding that blends engaging narrative with careful scholarship to share the stories of the people and their commitment to this place.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2019 -
Nunavut : A Health System Profile
by
Based on extensive research including visits to most health centres and facilities in Nunavut, Gregory Marchildon and Renée Torgerson have produced a comprehensive review of healthcare in Canada's newest territory. Nunavut: A Health System Profile provides an in-depth examination of population health and healthcare in the territory. Little more than a decade old, Nunavut has a population that consists of thirty-thousand residents living in twenty-five widely dispersed communities. No roads connect the territory's isolated populations and nearly all supplies and equipment are transported by air. Consequently, health service delivery in Nunavut is the costliest in Canada and its operation encounters challenges more extreme than those faced elsewhere. Marchildon and Torgerson consider the historical and demographic context of healthcare in Nunavut, as well as the finances, governance, infrastructure, workforce, and program provisions that define the system. Due to a high incidence of suicide and the psychological upheaval associated with rapid societal change, the authors call particular attention to the treatment of mental health and addictions. Filling a gap in our understanding of one of Canada's most important and expensive social policies, Nunavut: A Health System Profile provides the first comprehensive review of the health system in Nunavut and the distinct health issues the territory faces.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2013 -
Routledge Handbook of Indigenous Wellbeing
by
The Routledge Handbook of Indigenous Wellbeing consists of five themes, namely, physical, social and emotional, economic, cultural and spiritual, and subjective wellbeing. It fills a substantial gap in the current literature on the wellbeing of Indigenous people and communities around the world. This handbook sheds new light on understanding Indigenous wellbeing and its determinants, and aids in the development and implementation of more appropriate policies, as better evidence-informed policymaking will lead to better outcomes for Indigenous populations. This book provides a reliable and convenient source of information for policymakers, academics and students, and allows readers to make informed decisions regarding the wellbeing of Indigenous populations. It is also a useful resource for non- government organizations to gain insight into relevant global factors for the development of stronger and more effective international policies to improve the lives of Indigenous communities.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2019
Open Access Books: Recommended Database
- BC Campus Find Open Textbooks
- BCcampus Open Education contributes to the development of an open future for teaching practices and educational resources.
- Directory of Open Access Books
- DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
- I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal
- Indigenous Studies Portal is a tool for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community to access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world. Users can access open access e-books through.
- Project Muse Open Access eBooks
- Books are made open access on MUSE through a variety of funding initiatives, including Knowledge Unlatched, NEH Humanities Open Book grants, TOME, and individual publisher programs.
CBU E-Book Databases
-
Academic eBooks (EBSCO) More than 112,000 titles in all disciplines are included.
-
Canada Commons This database provides searchable access to public documents issued by Canadian public policy agencies and think tanks, as well as books from 100 Canadian publishers. Documents may be downloaded in PDF; book titles are available for online access only.
-
CREDO Reference This collection of ebooks provides access to 800+ reputable reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) supporting most academic disciplines.
-
Project MUSE Ebook collection of Native American and Indigenous Studies, Language and Linguistics, and Gender Studies.
Request an Item
To place a hold or request on a book or other physical item in the library:
- Sign into "My Library Account"
- Search Novanet
- Under "Get It," click on "Request"
- Choose a "Pick Up Location" and, if applicable, the date the item is "Not Needed After."
- Click on "Send Request"
Note: If Cape Breton University's Library doesn't have the item, it is possible to request material via Interlibrary Loan.
Facebook Twitter Instagram