Books and Journals
Experiential Teaching for Public Health Practice by
"Developing an effective program requires a sound administrative system and a supportive educational culture including the support of program handbooks, a Master's project (Capstone), practicum, and skill development seminars. Experiential Teaching for Pub"
Publication Date: 2017
The Handbook of Environmental Health, Vols 1-2 by
Environmental issues, global warming, pollution, and chemical dumping, are ever present in the news. But what about the health problems these issues pose? Frank Spellman and Melissa Stoudt identify the hazardous environmental issues and explain the science behind the dangers to our health.The Handbook of Environmental Health begins with defining the most commonly used terms, clearly explained for any student to learn and understand. Then each chapter tackles a different issue, outlining its scientific concepts and relating it to our health, with case studies or scenarios to bring the concepts to life. Lastly, the chapters conclude with thought-provoking questions.The authors also provide solutions to control the factors that harm our health, making this handbook a valuable resource for any student, library, or one interested in the dangers of environmental health.
Publication Date: 2013
Teaching Public Health by
A comprehensive collection of best practices in public health education. As more students are drawn to public health as a field of study and a profession, bringing varied backgrounds and experiences with them, the number of public health programs and schools of public health has grown substantially. How can teachers meet the changing needs of incoming students--and ensure that graduates have the knowledge, skills, and attributes to pursue further education and forge successful careers in public health? Aimed at experienced and new teachers alike, this timely volume is a cutting-edge primer on teaching public health around the globe. Bringing together leaders in the field with expertise across the educational continuum, the book combines the conceptual underpinnings needed to advance curricula with the resources to train and support faculty in innovative teaching methods. This thorough book * discusses challenges faced by public health teachers * examines the principles and practices for teaching at each level of study * describes technological and pedagogical innovations in public health education * stresses the importance of life-long learning and interprofessional education * offers concrete tips for engaging students through active and collaborative learning * focuses on teaching cultural competency and reaching diverse student populations * looks to the future, building on emerging trends and anticipating where the field is headed A field-defining volume, Teaching Public Health offers a concrete plan to ensure that both individual courses and overall curricula are responsive to the needs of a rapidly changing student body and the world beyond the school.
Publication Date: 2019
Who Will Keep the Public Healthy? Education public health professionals for the 21st century by
Bioterrorism, drug--resistant disease, transmission of disease by global travel . . . there (TM)s no shortage of challenges facing America (TM)s public health officials. Men and women preparing to enter the field require state-of-the-art training to meet these increasing threats to the public health. But are the programs they rely on provide the high caliber professional training they require? Who Will Keep the Public Healthy? provides an overview of the past, present, and future of public health education, assessing its readiness to provide the training and education needed to prepare men and women to face 21st century challenges. Advocating an ecological approach to public health, the Institute of Medicine examines the role of public health schools and degree--granting programs, medical schools, nursing schools, and government agencies, as well as other institutions that foster public health education and leadership. Specific recommendations address the content of public health education, qualifications for faculty, availability of supervised practice, opportunities for cross--disciplinary research and education, cooperation with government agencies, and government funding for education. Eight areas of critical importance to public health education in the 21st century are examined in depth: informatics, genomics, communication, cultural competence, community-based participatory research, global health, policy and law, and public health ethics. The book also includes a discussion of the policy implications of its ecological framework.
Call Number: RA 440 W47 2003Publication Date: 2003
Handbook of Environmental Health, Vols 1-2 by
The Handbook of Environmental Health,4th ed. provides a comprehensive but concise discussion of important environmental health areas, including energy, ecology and people, environmental epidemiology, risk assessment and risk management, environmental law, air quality management, food protection, insect control, rodent control, pesticides, chemical environment, environmental economics, human disease and injury, occupational health and safety, noise, radiation, recreational environment, indoor environments, medical care institutions, schools and universities, prisons, solid and hazardous waste management, water supply, plumbing, swimming areas, sewage disposal, soils, water pollution control, environmental health emergencies, and nuisance complaints. The handbook presents background material that gives students and professionals an understanding of the areas under discussion and describes common problems and potential solutions. Each volume includes illustrative graphs, graphs, computerized drawings, inspection sheets, and flowcharts that consolidate or clarify textual material. These volumes provide a solid working knowledge of each environmental health area with sufficient detail for practitioners and students. The text can be used in basic courses in environmental health, environmental pollution, and ecology. For general areas of study, the instructor can omit specific details, such as resources, standards, practices and techniques, and modes of surveillance and evaluation.
Publication Date: 2018
Listed are journals focusing on the practice and teaching of Public Health. This list is not comprehensive; use databases to search for and locate academic and professional articles.
- Focus on Health Professional EducationFrom the publisher's site: Covers all aspects of health professional education including undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing education.
- Journal of Public Health Management and PracticeFrom the publisher's site: Provides practical information applicable to the design and implementation of public health programs. Explore the everyday challenges of PH and you'll find the hands-on, step-by-step solutions PH professionals are using.
- Public Health ReportsFrom the publisher site: Dedicated to publishing original research, reviews and commentaries in the areas of PH practice and methodology, law, and teaching at schools and programs of publich health.
- Public Health ReviewsAims to provide information to support cutting edge public health practice, teaching and research, using systematic review papers.
Facebook Twitter Instagram