LibGuides: Psychology: Finding Psychology Research

Research Databases and Indexes

Academic Search Ultimate
Provides access to information published in academic journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Indexes 10,000+ full text journals & magazines. Subject area: multidisciplinary.

PubMed [see also MEDLINE] This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a freely accessible online database of biomedical journal references created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text journals from Elsevier Science focusing primarily on the sciences but includes disciplines such as arts and humanities, management, and the social sciences.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. It is the most comprehensive resource for nursing research. [EBSCO]
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Video Streaming Platform for psychotherapy and counseling videos.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Content includes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. [EBSCO]

Ebook Collections and Platforms

Oxford Handbooks, Psychology collection

Psychology Journals

Psychological tests

Psychological tests are standardized measures of a psychological variable. Many tests are commercially published, which means they often come with a price tag. In addition to being costly, many tests are not available without having the professional credentials. Access to tests may be restricted to registered psychologists only and not available for students.

Resources:

BUROS center for testing: This website allows you to search for test reviews online by title or category.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (See: REF LB 1131 B7). You will not locate the test itself, but rather the test's author, title, purpose, publisher's address, and the review of the test.

PsychInfo: type 'appended' in one of the search boxes and select 'Tests & Measures' from the drop down menu beside the search box. This will narrow results to included articles with tests appended.