Teaching Secondary Mathematics
Library Resources
| Use this mini-guide along with the Education Subject Guide for the most comprehensive access to the Library's Education resources. |
Use dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks to define terms; provide insights into concepts and theories; discover the vocabulary around your topic; and more.
50 Maths Ideas You Really Need to Know by Publication Date: 2016
Greenwood Dictionary of Education (The) by
This book defines over 3,000 terms from the field of education to assist those charged with teaching students to become global citizens in a rapidly changing, technological society. * 3,050 A-Z entries, including over 400 new and revised definitions * 128 contributors from a variety of specialized areas related to education * Three tables and graphs to illustrate specific aspects of mathematics and evaluation in education * An introduction on education terminology by editors John W. Collins and Nancy Patricia O'Brien, distinguished librarians in the study of education * Author attributions for each definition * An extensive, updated bibliography of sources that identify and explain terms used within education
Publication Date: 2011- Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics by Publication Date: 2010
Practitioner Research for Educators by Publication Date: 2005
Princeton Companion to Mathematics (The) by Publication Date: 2010-07-18
A selective list of titles. Use Novanet to locate other helpful books and e-books.
Becoming the Math Teacher You Wish You'd Had by Publication Date: 2017
Essentials of Mathematics, Grades 7-12 (The) by Publication Date: 2006
Learning to Love Math: Teaching strategies that change student attitudes and get results by Publication Date: 2010
Living Culturally Responsive Mathematics Education with/in Indigenous Communities by Publication Date: 2020- Mathematics for Secondary School Teachers by Publication Date: 2011
Open Middle Math: Problems that unlock student thinking, 6-12 by Publication Date: 2019
Successful K-12 STEM Education by Publication Date: 2011
Teaching Mathematics Meaningfully: Solutions for reaching struggling learners by Publication Date: 2018
Uncovering Student Thinking in Mathematics, Grades 6-12 by Call Number: QA 11.2 R6712 2009Publication Date: 2008
Search Novanet to locate books, e-books, and other publications. Search using keywords, authors, titles, keywords, or subject headings relevant to the study of teaching mathematics. Sample subject headings include:
- Mathematical ability - Testing
- Mathematics - Study and Teaching (Middle School)
- Mathematics - Study and Teaching (Secondary)
- Mathematics - Study and Teaching - Psychological aspects
- note to me: locate evaluation and assessment heading
This list of journals and professional publications is not comprehensive. Use databases such as Education Source and ERIC to search for articles. Education periodicals, not specific to teaching mathematics, publish articles on curriculum topics as well.
- Educational Studies in MathematicsFrom Education Source: Refereed articles reflecting the variety of research concerns within the field of mathematical education dealing with didactical, methodological, and pedagogical subjects.
- International Journal for Mathematics Teaching and LearningFrom Education Source: Provides a medium for stimulating and challenging ideas, offering innovation and practice in all aspects of mathematics teaching and learning.
- International Journal for Technology in Mathematics EducationFrom Education Source: Provides a medium by which a wide range of experiences in the use of new technologies in mathematics education can be presented, criticized & best practices assimilated.
- Mathematics Teacher: Learning and Teaching PK-12From publisher's site: Reflects current practices of mathematics education, as well as maintaining a knowledge base of practice and policy in looking at the future of the field.
- Mathematics TeachingFrom the database: Concerned with classroom approaches to mathematics teaching. Contains articles written by primary & secondary teachers as well as advisors & others with links with mathematics education.
- Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School1996 - 2018
- Teaching Mathematics & its ApplicationsFrom Education Source: Provides mathematics teachers in secondary and tertiary education with interesting and stimulating material which can be used in the teaching of mathematics.
- Teaching of MathematicsFrom Education Source: Presents papers containing essentially new ideas and techniques relevant for teaching of mathematics at all levels.
Facebook Twitter Instagram