Curriculum Design
Library Resources
| Use this mini-guide along with the Education Subject Guide for the most comprehensive access to the Library's Education resources. |
Use dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks to define terms; provide insights into concepts and theories; discover the vocabulary around your topic; and more.
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies by Publication Date: 2010
Greenwood Dictionary of Education (The) by
This book defines over 3,000 terms from the field of education to assist those charged with teaching students to become global citizens in a rapidly changing, technological society. * 3,050 A-Z entries, including over 400 new and revised definitions * 128 contributors from a variety of specialized areas related to education * Three tables and graphs to illustrate specific aspects of mathematics and evaluation in education * An introduction on education terminology by editors John W. Collins and Nancy Patricia O'Brien, distinguished librarians in the study of education * Author attributions for each definition * An extensive, updated bibliography of sources that identify and explain terms used within education
Publication Date: 2011
Key Concepts in Education by Publication Date: 2011
Practitioner Research for Educators by Publication Date: 2005
Sage Guide to Curriculum in Education by Publication Date: 2015
SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction by Publication Date: 2007- Sage Handbook of Educational Action Research by Call Number: Access through NovanetPublication Date: 2009
A selective list of titles. Use Novanet and e-book collections such as, EBSCO's Academic e-Books to locate other helpful books and e-books.
Curriculum: From theory to practice by Publication Date: 2016
Exemplars of Curriculum Theory by Publication Date: 2014
Fundamentals of Curriculum: Passion and professionalism by Publication Date: 2002
Understanding and Shaping Curriculum by Publication Date: 2006
Novanet is your principle resource for locating books, e-books, and other publications. You can search using keywords, authors, titles, or subject headings. Subject headings relevant to the study of curriculum include:
- critical pedagogy
- culturally relevant pedagogy
- curriculum - evolution
- curriculum planning
- curriculum planning - moral and ethical aspects (example of a "focus")
- education - curricula
- education, elementary - curricula
- middle school education - curricula
- ....this list is not comprehensive
This list of journals and professional periodicals is not comprehensive. Use databases such as Education Source and ERIC to search for articles. Education periodicals, not specific to curriculum design and studies, publish articles on curriculum as well.
- Curriculum and Teaching DialoguePromotes the scholarly study of teaching and curriculum.
- Curriculum InquiryDedicated to studies of educational experience in schools, communities, and families using a range of theoretical and disciplinary approaches.
- Curriculum Journal (The)International peer-reviewed journal that publishes contributions to the study of curriculum, pedagogy and assessment.
- Journal of Curriculum StudiesPublishes conceptually rich contributions to all areas of curriculum studies, including those derived from emperical, philosophical, sociological, or policy-related investigations.
- Journal of the American Association for the Advancement of CurriculumPublishes critical essays that theoretically and historically conceptualize new and exiting scholarship, interweaving past and present ideas and perspectives in the field, and exploring their relations to culture and society.
- Journal of the Canadian Association for Curriculum StudiesArticles address curriculum issues of interest to Canada and Canadians and an international readership.
- Journal of Curriculum and InstructionPeer reviewed, open access journal that provides a forum for the dissemination of articles focused on research, practice, and related issues relevant to teaching and learning in the PreK - 12 environment.
Facebook Twitter Instagram