This guide highlights key sources of online provincial, national, and international demographic statistics, economic indicators, social indicators, as well as housing, education, and industry data. Includes information on online mapping tools.
Below are access points to Statistics Canada's and other government departments; data offered on their sites or through CBU's DLI license. For further information on accessing data, contact the Data Services Librarian. When formatting your papers use How to Cite Statistics Canada Products.
The Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System (CANSIM) is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada. CANSIM comprises over 40 million time-series and thousands of tables. CANSIM at CHASS allows for search, browsing, and extraction of multiple CANSIM tables.
The CHASS Census Analyzer allows users to extract particular variables from the Census microdata, rather than working with the entire census PUMF. Select the census year and geographic level desired, then choose your variables for analysis.
Researchers can access microdata for a number of Statistics Canada surveys. This link provides information about the surveys available. Formerly, they could be accessed through Nesstar, however security issues led to this being removed and a new platform, Colectica is forthcoming. Some data is available through Statistics Canada's Open Data portal; for other data, please contact the data services librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org.
"Rich Data Services (RDS) is Statistics Canada’s analytical platform for Public Use Microdata files (PUMFs) and their metadata. The RDS Explorer and Tabulation Engine's user-friendly interfaces allow users to browse, interact, and download data and metadata for online or offline analysis.'
Odesi (pronounced "odyssey") is a tool for searching data and metadata. It allows users to search for survey names, descriptions, and variables within the surveys.
CBU does not have access to the data download section of odes; users can contact the librarian for access.
The Government of Canada's Open Data portal. You can browse by subject, or search specific datasets to download and use. There is also information on working with data and APIs (application program interfaces), visualizing data, and suggesting data.
Conference Board of Canada's e-Data includes datasets relating to Canadian and U.S. consumer confidence, forecasts, provincial/territorial and metropolitan financial information, long-term data trends, and more. A free account must be created, and linked to Cape Breton University's licensing.
SiteWiseeasily provides demographic profile reports for Canadian standard geographic or mapped study areas.Data includes most current census, estimates and projections, consumer spending, business profiles etc.
The DLI Web Data Server (WDS) is an API which is used to access the aggregate data in the DLI Collection. While clicking the link above will not provide direct access to data, the User guide for DLI WDS can provide information on how to access and use WDS.