Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Bernier LGBT Collection: Home

The Bernier LGBT Collection

The Bernier LGBT Collection has been created to increase the visibility and study of materials relating to lesbian, gay, bi- and trans- cultures and communities. Made possible in large part by the generous donations of Peter Bernier, a CBU alumni, the collection consists of several hundred items and continues to grow as new items are acquired.

The collection consists principally of academic works on LGBTQ+ issues and culture, as well as literature dealing with LGBTQ+ subject matter or written by openly LGBTQA+authors. However, the collection spans multiple subjects and disciplines and features a range of formats as diverse as poetry, photography, erotica, anthologies, periodicals and more.

HQ76 Area (Second Floor)

The collection is not currently housed in a single space, but many of them could be found in the HQ76 area (See the pictures below). All items are capable of being loaned by patrons as with other items in the general collection.

Cape Breton University Library LGBT Collection

 

Cape Breton University Library LGBT Collection

CBU faculty and community members are invited to recommend subject areas or specific acquisitions. To make such a request, contact the SASS Librarian.

Search Terms

To find more CBU holdings on LGBTQIA2S+ issues, Search in Novanet or consider browsing the subject headings below:

  • Homosexuality
  • Bisexuality
  • Transexualism
  • Gender Identity
  • Two-Spirit
  • Sexual Orientation
  • Gay
  • Lesbian
  • Transgender
  • Queer Theory
  • Gay and Lesbian Studies
  • Gay Rights
  • Homosexuality and Education
  • Gay Fiction
  • Lesbian Fiction
  • Erotic Stories

Gallery

Book cover for Queer Indigenous Studies

Queer Indigenous Studies

A critical Indigenous-centered approach to understanding 2SLGBTQ+ lives and communities and the creative implications of queer theory in Native studies.

Book cover for Trans Kids and Teens

Trans Kids and Teens

A guide to the medical, emotional, and social issues of trans kids.

Book cover for Blue is the Warmest Cover

Blue Is the Warmest Color

A graphic novel about growing up, falling in love, and coming out.

Book cover for The Ethics of Opting Out

The Ethics of Opting Out

The role of subjectivity, defiance, agency, and affect theory in contemporary queer theory

Book cover for Queer in Africa

Queer in Africa

Queer in Africa forms an entry point for understanding the vulnerabilities of queer Africans as shaped by social, cultural and political processes.

Book cover for Queer: A Graphic History

Queer: a Graphic History

Barker and Scheele invite you to question the status quo and to start seeing things more queerly.

Book cover for The Stonewall Experiment

The Stonewall Experiment

Presents a psychohistory of the gay male community, from Walt Whitman to the AIDS crisis.

Book cover for Transgender History

Transgender History, Second Edition

Covers American transgender history from the mid-twentieth century to today.

Book cover for Pride Day

Pride Day

This book explores how Pride came to be, and what it means to those who celebrate it.

Book cover for LGBTQ2+ Law

LGBTQ2+ Law : practice issues and analysis

A practical text on LGBTQ2+ legal issues in Canada

Book cover for Straight Parents, Gay Children

Straight Parents, Gay Children

Robert Bernstein's inspiring account serves as a call to action to all parents of gays not just to love and accept their children, but to speak out on their behalf.

Book cover for Trans/Portraits

Trans/Portraits

This book presents the stories of more than thirty Americans who identify as transgender.