LibGuides: Decolonizing and Indigenizing Social Work: Articles

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Ultimate Thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America, Academic Search Ultimate provides an enormous advantage to students seeking a broader, more global perspective in their research.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. It is the most comprehensive resource for nursing research.
iPortal The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
SocINDEX SocINDEX is the authoritative bibliographic database for sociology research. It offers millions of indexed records from top sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.

Recommended Journals

Searching for Scholarly Articles

Use the databases listed below to find scholarly articles.

Note: There are over 100 CBU article databases. Try searching for your topic in other areas of study, such as health, education, history, psychology, tourism,etc. Browse the full list of databases or sort databases by subject. Example: Databases A-Z > Education.

The Structure of a Scholarly (Academic) Article

This is an example of a structure of an academic scholarly paper, though there may be variations:

Abstract	Summarizes the content within the paper and sometimes outlines keywords in the paper
Introduction	Introduces a problem and provides a solution to that problem, whether it is a new idea or a plan of action. Also, it outlines the structure of the paper
Literature Review	Identifies past and current research on the topic and any gaps in the existing knowledge
Methodology	Explains what method the author(s) chose for conducting their study (e.g. Case studies, personal reflections, surveys/questionnaires, interviews, focus groups, etc.)
Results	Explains the results of the study
Discussion & Conclusion	Interprets the results, discusses the limitations of the method that they used, and/or makes recommendations based on their findings