Online Indigenous and L'nu Resources
- First Peoples Cultural Council: Working with Elders These guidelines are for anyone who requires the assistance of Elders for a project or event, whether Indigenous or non-Indigenous. If you feel you are experienced with working with Elders, you may wish to review this document for suggestions which are specific to the COVID-19 pandemic.
- Mi'kmaq Resource Centre The Mi’kmaq Resource Centre collects material on Mi’kmaw and Indigenous history, language, and culture. It also provides information and links to theses and other resources.
- Mi'kmaq Spirit This site provides its users with a place to find accurate information about the Mi'kmaw people and their culture, their history, and their spirituality.
- YouTube-Catherine Donnelly Foundation The Catherine Donnelly Foundation is committed to promoting positive social change by funding and financing initiatives related to the environment, housing and homelessness as well as adult education. They provide access to videos with Mi'kmaq Elders sharing their teachings.
- YouTube-The Impact of Intergenerational Trauma Series This video presented by Sullivan & Associates Clinical Psychology from Canada explores the topic of Intergenerational Trauma and the root causes of the pervasive mental health concerns in Indigenous populations and communities
Evaluating Websites
General searching tips
When starting out, think of a few keywords to use in your search that sum up what you are looking for: Sweat lodge AND Indigenous AND healing. Refer to the first page of this site for other keywords that you could add or use instead such as "Mi'kma'ki" , "L'nu Healing" or "Traditional Knowledge".
Depending on the amount of results, you can narrow your search by adding more terms, taking out results using the NOT function, changing the date range, or limiting to only peer reviewed research.
If you aren't getting enough results, you could broaden your search by using OR, or remove some keywords. eg. Sweat lodge AND Indigenous AND (healing or psychotherapy OR therapy)
Where to Search:
more databases below
Databases
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowThis database covers all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. It is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, linguists, theologians, and policymakers.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowThis database contains more than 1.5 million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
- iPortal This link opens in a new windowThe Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThis database is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Content includes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. [EBSCO]
- Native Health DatabaseThis database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of Indigenous populations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.
Featured Books
Integrating Traditional Healing Practices into Counseling and Psychotherapy by
"If you are a student, professor, or practitioner of the ′talking cures′ - buy this book, read it, use it, and experience the difference it makes in your thoughts and actions."-Anthony J. Marsella, Ph.D., D.H.C., University of Hawaii, Honolulu, for PsycCritiques (Contemporary Psychology), APA, November 15, 2005 issue Integrating Traditional Healing Practices Into Counseling and Psychotherapycritically examines ethnic minority cultural and traditional healing in relation to counseling and psychotherapy. Authors Roy Moodley and William West highlight the challenges and changes in the field of multicultural counseling and psychotherapy by integrating current issues of traditional healing with contemporary practice. The book uniquely presents a range of accounts of the dilemmas and issues facing students, professional counselors, psychotherapists, social workers, researchers, and others who use multicultural counseling or transcultural psychotherapy as part of their professional practice. Key Features: Contributes to the wider debates about ethnic minority health care by focusing on how ethnic minority groups construct illness perceptions and the kinds of treatments they expect to solve health and mental health problems Analyzes traditional healing of racial, ethnic, and religious groups living in the United States, Canada, and Britain to consider the diffusion of healing practices across cultural boundaries Explores contemporary alternative health care movements such as paganism, New Age Spirituality and healing, transcendental meditation, and new religious movements to increase the knowledge and capacity of clinical expertise of students studying in this field Integrating Traditional Healing Practices Into Counseling and Psychotherapyis an ideal text for undergraduate and graduate students studying multicultural counseling or psychotherapy. The book is also a valuable resource for academics, researchers, psychotherapists, counselors, and other practitioners.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2005
The Arts of Indigenous Health and Well-Being by
Drawing attention to the ways in which creative practices are essential to the health, well-being, and healing of Indigenous peoples, The Arts of Indigenous Health and Well-Being addresses the effects of artistic endeavour on the "good life", or mino-pimatisiwin in Cree, which can be described as the balanced interconnection of physical, emotional, spiritual, and mental well-being. In this interdisciplinary collection, Indigenous knowledges inform an approach to health as a wider set of relations that are central to well-being, wherein artistic expression furthers cultural continuity and resilience, community connection, and kinship to push back against forces of fracture and disruption imposed by colonialism. The need for healing--not only individuals but health systems and practices--is clear, especially as the trauma of colonialism is continually revealed and perpetuated within health systems. The field of Indigenous health has recently begun to recognize the fundamental connection between creative expression and well-being. This book brings together scholarship by humanities scholars, social scientists, artists, and those holding experiential knowledge from across Turtle Island to add urgently needed perspectives to this conversation. Contributors embrace a diverse range of research methods, including community-engaged scholarship with Indigenous youth, artists, Elders, and language keepers. The Arts of Indigenous Health and Well-Being demonstrates the healing possibilities of Indigenous works of art, literature, film, and music from a diversity of Indigenous peoples and arts traditions. This book will resonate with health practitioners, community members, and any who recognize the power of art as a window, an entryway to access a healthy and good life.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2021
Journey to Healing: Aboriginal People with Mental Health and Addiction Issues: What Health, Social Service and Justice Workers by
Journey to Healing is a comprehensive and practical evidence-based resource. It was written to help prepare students and professionals to provide counselling and social services to Aboriginal people with mental health and addiction issues in urban, rural and isolated settings. Many of the authors are Aboriginal and all are respected experts in their fields. Each author shares his or her scholarly learning, insight, wisdom and experience of addressing addiction and mental health issues in Aboriginal populations. The guide is intended to serve as a course text for health, social service and justice programs in universities and community colleges. It will also be of interest to social workers, addiction and mental health service providers, and prison, probation, parole and police officers working with Aboriginal communities--Publisher's website.
Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2015
Facebook Twitter Instagram