Library Resources
Dyslexia at College by Publication Date: 1995
Dyslexia Next Steps for Teens by
Written for 14+ year olds, this accessible book empowers young people with dyslexia to make a smooth transition to college, university or the workplace. An engaging and informative guide, it will help you plan and make decisions about the next stage of your education or employment. Ann-Marie McNicholas, who has worked with young people with dyslexia for many years, answers the questions that you will have as you plan for life at university or college. She covers the differences between school and college and university, lists the different types of dyslexia assessment available and gives you simple, tried-and-tested tips to help you to manage your time, your workload and your revision. Beyond information about further and higher education, the book is full of advice on preparing for the next stage in your life, such as moving into the workplace. A must-read pocket guide for teenagers with dyslexia and an essential resource for parents, teachers, SENCOs, career advisers, and anyone else involved in supporting learners with dyslexia to make a successful transition to further education and the world of work.
Publication Date: 2018
One Word at a Time: A road map for navigating through dyslexia and other disabilities by
At the age of 32, when she was finally diagnosed with severe dyslexia, Linda G. Tessler's word fluency tested on a third-grade level. Yet, in spite of the challenges, she earned a Ph.D. and became a clinical psychologist. One Word at a Time: A Road Map for Navigating Through Dyslexia and Other Learning Disabilities is Tessler's brave and honest account of her lifelong struggles with dyslexia. Interspersed is compassionate advice and practical strategies - culled from her experiences as a psychologist and scholar specializing in learning disabilities and as the parent of a son who struggles with dyslexia. Bringing together sound psychological principles with personal knowledge, Tessler has created a unique and groundbreaking resource guide that is informative, insightful and inspiring. Easy to read, One Word at a Time is the one book you must read about dyslexia.
Publication Date: 2008
Self-Fulfilment with Dyslexia: A blueprint for success by
Dyslexia won't stop you from writing your own success story. Discover the ten key traits which people with dyslexia have harnessed in order to reach success and self-fulfilment. Dyslexia brings both challenges and the potential gift of a unique skill set - through a combination of academic research and case studies, this book shows how you can use all of this to your advantage. From increasing your self-esteem to imaginative problem solving, each of the ten secrets to success is explained and brought to life through interviews with accomplished people describing how they have profited from a single star characteristic in realizing their goals. Approach the obstacles of dyslexia pro-actively, and unlock your potential with this inspiring step by step guide.
Publication Date: 2017
The Successful Dyslexic: Identify the keys to unlock your potential by
This innovative book looks at the keys for success in dyslexic adults, comparing both those who are successful and less successful, enabling parents and teachers to use these keys to best support young dyslexics. These keys look at home life, school, career choices, working relationships, coping strategies, traits, unique selling points, and what is considered success for somebody with dyslexia. The Successful Dyslexic questions if school-based trauma can be used positively, as both successful and unsuccessful dyslexic adults share the same traumatic school experiences. It is how these adult dyslexics have used this trauma, positively or negatively that has set them on the path for success, or to struggle as adults searching for a worthwhile career. The theories of 'disability paradox' and 'post-traumatic growth' are used to understand why despite having a disability, many dyslexics can be, and are, highly successful. This book details an interview study of 27 successful and 10 less successful dyslexics, with 2 expert interviews, and supported by two large online studies. In total this book includes the contribution of 191 adult dyslexics. Each in-depth interview has sought to understand the individual's journey from childhood to adulthood, and their quotes are used to enlighten the reader to each of their individual experiences. Armed with these insights, it is hoped that parents and teachers of young dyslexics can set them on the path to unlock their own future success.
Publication Date: 2017
Dyslexia in the Workplace by
The second edition of Dyslexia in the Workplace is a comprehensive guide to how dyslexic adults in employment can improve their skills, and how their employers and other professionals can help. Offers invaluable insights for overcoming obstacles to success, enhancing workplace efficiency and ensuring that dyslexic employees achieve their full potential Written in an accessible style that is perfect for professionals and dyslexic individuals alike Covers related syndromes such as dyspraxia, attention deficit disorder and visual stress Explores the legal obligations and other issues that are important to workplace managers, especially human resources professionals Provides authoritative guidance on recent case law relating to dyslexia
Publication Date: 2010
Special Teaching in Higher Education by
Author suggests effective responses for those designing and delivering the curriculum and discusses flexible teaching strategies. An essential purchase for any education professionals wanting to implement best practice when catering for those with particular needs - whether lecturers, course developers, course leaders or learning and teaching interest groups.
Publication Date: 2003
Dyslexia in the Early Years by
Packed full of activities, real-life case studies, tasks and suggestions, this informative book will equip teachers with the kind of practical knowledge needed to teach young children with dyslexia effectively. Tackling the subject in a clear and realistic way, the author encourages teachers to think critically in terms of the changing nature of special educational needs, and teaching and learning in early years. She addresses a variety of classroom issues, such as: assessment and identification of dyslexia summarising and commenting on current debates exploring the links between dyslexia, language, and social and emotional development the most effective instructional methods and teaching styles conducive to supporting pupils with dyslexia in early years settings. In addition the book considers the implications of current research for everyday classroom practice, makes recommendations for employing technologies and for accessing web-based information and resources.
Publication Date: 2005
The Effective Teacher's Guide to Dyslexia and other Specific Learning Difficulties by
Offering valuable practical advice, this book provides the ordinary classroom teacher with enough information to equip them with a range of strategies to tackle everyday classroom situations. This book expertly guides the reader through: legal and policy contexts terms and definitions interventions and rationale approaches related to different curriculum subjects provision for dyscalculia and acalculia. Taking into account recent policy changes, and with an emphasis on what works in the classroom, this book will prove a practical, readable and invaluable resource for the busy practitioner.
Publication Date: 2005
An Introduction to Dyslexia for Parents and Professionals by
This book does exactly what it says on the tin! Hultquist deals with the causes, types and sub types of dyslexia. He explains how dyslexia is diagnosed and remediated and gives appendices on agencies, resources and practical classroom strategies. I would highly recommend this book to parents who have just received a dyslexia diagnosis in the family, to professionals working with those with dyslexia and to specialist teachers to have as a handy reference/refresher tool. For all these audiences, Hultquist writes in such measured, clear and uncluttered prose that no one can take the journey from diagnosis to remediation without feeling that one is in the hands of someone who really understands the issues surrounding a dyslexia diagnosis, not only for the one diagnosed but also for the whole family and the professionals working with them.' - Dyslexia Contact 'This short, to - the- point book is an absolute "must buy" for any parent with a child with dyslexia, or any teacher with a child with dyslexia in her class. I asked a parent of a child with dyslexia to read this book and give me an honest opinion. Her reply is as good a recommendation as any review I can write: "I could see my son straight away. I now understand why he has particular reading and writing difficulties. I hope his teacher reads this book and is able to take note of this author's advice.".' - Special Children Magazine 'This is only a short book, but it is a model of consciousness and clarity. It covers much ground and should fulfill its purpose as an introduction for both parents and teachers who wish to increase their understanding of dyslexia.' -The School Librarian Journal This practical guide provides basic need-to-know information for parents and professionals and answers frequently asked questions about dyslexia. Using illustrative case studies, Alan M. Hultquist addresses many of the issues surrounding dyslexia, including possible causes and subtypes, means of testing, remediation and the controversial matter of "staying back" to repeat a school year. He identifies possible methods of classroom accommodation for dyslexic students in a range of subject areas. The list of useful resources at the back of the book can be used by parents and professionals to help explain dyslexia to children, and to help them find further information and teaching tools. This complete introductory guide to dyslexia is a must-read for parents of children with dyslexia, especially parents with children who are newly diagnosed, and for all those who work with dyslexic children and their families.
Publication Date: 2006
Practical Strategies for Living with Dyslexia by
This little book does exactly what it sets out to do. It spells out all you need to know about different methods and strategies for treating dyslexia. So, if you want to know more about the many approaches to helping someone with dyslexia, then read this book. At the end of the day, you will be better informed to choose a way to suit your child. It is encouraging to read her list of famous people with dyslexia. It includes Hans Christian Anderson, Albert Einstein, Winston Churchill, Agatha Christie, Jeremy Irons, Jackie Stewart and Richard Branson. They haven't done too badly, have they?' - www.family2000.org.uk 'This readable and useful little book has been written by a mother of two dyslexic sons. She writes about the hard road she travelled to find help and support for them. The book covers most of the questions that the parents of a dyslexic child would want answered, but it is just as useful to professionals who have a dyslexic child in their classroom or setting. The importance of early identification is stressed and the author provides useful information about tests which can be administered to children as young as four years old. There are informative chapters about the various successful techniques and strategies for working with dyslexic children, ranging from the well-publicised rose-coloured spectacles to the part played by a special diet.' - Nursery World Over the years, many quick fix approaches to cure dyslexia have been developed and used. These 'miracle cures' have offered hope to many parents who are left disillusioned by the school system and health service. With no other way to turn, many parents spend more and more money on special glasses, vitamins, exercises and specialist advice, but do they actually work? Written by a parent of two dyslexic sons, who herself searched for anything that would 'cure' them, this new book is a practical guide to dyslexia's many 'miracle cures'. Practical Strategies for Living with Dyslexia suggests that early identification of this condition may be the key. Dyslexia is often not diagnosed until children have started school, yet testing is now available from the age of four-and-a-half. On top of this many dyslexics also have eye and ear problems that go undetected, which further exacerbates the problem. Looking at the possible remedies available, such as tinted glasses, nutritional supplements and exercising, and considering the benefits of early identification of dyslexia, this book will be an essential practical resource for both the parents of, and the professionals who work, with people with dyslexia.
Publication Date: 2001
Understanding Dyslexia: a Guide for Teachers and Parents by
"In his book Understanding Dyslexia Denis Lawrence leaves no stone unturned. This up-to-date book provides a comprehensive account of all aspects of dyslexia. The author's knowledge, experience and empathy is evident and the book can be recommended for all who want a simple account of the nature and consequences of dyslexia." Professor Maggie Snowling, University of York, UK "[This book is] a very readable introduction and guide covering theories of dyslexia and important areas of practical importance to those living with dyslexia or providing support for them." J.B.Thomas, Loughborough University, UK Dyslexia affects at least ten per cent of children and is the most common special educational need that teachers encounter. However, the characteristics of dyslexia can mean that it is often confused with other learning difficulties. Whether you are a teacher or a parent, this easy-to-read book helps you to understand what is meant by 'dyslexia', providing clear guidance for identifying the signs and outlining practical strategies for helping and supporting dyslexic children. As well as examining current popular definitions of dyslexia, the book offers a fresh definition, based on current research. Each chapter helps you to understand the unique challenges faced by dyslexic children in their learning of literacy skills and shows that the combined efforts of parents and teachers really can make a difference. Key features include: Coverage of the most popular methods used in the assessment of dyslexia Strategies and techniques to help dyslexic children develop their literacy skills at school and at home A focus on how to enhance and maintain self-esteem in dyslexic children A look at other specific learning difficulties that overlap or can be confused with dyslexia Discussion of society's attitude towards dyslexia and the need for further understanding of the concept Understanding Dyslexia is valuable reading for trainee and practising teachers, SENCOs and parents.
Call Number: Monitor - being removed from eEbsco collectionPublication Date: 2009
What Is Dyslexia? by
Praise for What is Dyslexia?: '...informative, based on the latest research and compassionate - three qualities that make this a must read for parents and children struggling with dyslexia.' - Paul M. Quinlan, Ph.D. from The Curtis Blake Center Praise for An Introduction to Dyslexia for Parents and Professionals by the same author: 'Hultquist writes in such measured, clear and uncluttered prose that no one can take the journey from diagnosis to remediation without feeling that one is in the hands of someone who really understands the issues surrounding a dyslexia diagnosis, not only for the one diagnosed but also for the whole family and the professionals working with them.' - Dyslexia Contact, Vol. 26, Feb 2007 What is Dyslexia? is designed to help adults explain dyslexia to children. The author provides information about all the most common types of dyslexia: trouble with sounds, trouble remembering how letters and words look, trouble finding words, and mixed dyslexia. He deals with the basic facts and adopts a style which is accessible to children without talking down to them. The book includes clear examples which children will be able to understand, as well as activities for parents to do with their children. The author emphasises that everyone has strengths and weaknesses and that having dyslexia is okay. This book will be valuable for parents of children with dyslexia, as well as other adults working with children with dyslexia.
Publication Date: 2008
Dyslexia Is My Superpower (Most of the Time) by
In more than 100 interviews, children and young adults reveal their personal tips and tactics for honing the creative benefits of dyslexia, enabling them to thrive in school and beyond. Strategies include ways to develop confidence and self-belief. The contributors have outlined specific approaches they feel have helped them, and others that haven't. The book contains stunning illustrations by 8-18 year olds with dyslexia. The first-hand accounts are inspiring in the way they normalise dyslexia and reveal the many success stories. There is an additional section for professionals who work in education or special learning environments, with advice given by school students themselves.
Publication Date: 2017
The Illustrated Guide to Dyslexia and Its Amazing People by
Use this guide to weed out what dyslexia means for you and discover the tools you need to blossom! Dyslexia comes to life with visual imagery and colourful text in this new book on what dyslexia means, how it feels, what to do about it, and how to learn to embrace it. There are advantages to being dyslexic, including an aptitude for design literacy and innovative thinking, although these can be obscured by its challenges. This beautifully designed book, complete with stunning visuals and gentle humour, approaches the subject of dyslexia in a simple and encouraging way for all age groups. By showing what dyslexia is and asking the reader how it applies to them, this book offers a fun and engaging means of working out how dyslexia affects the individual specifically, with a multitude of learning tools and tips, and a gallery of inspirational dyslexics who have used their particular skills to do something amazing with their lives.
Publication Date: 2017- What Is Dyslexia? by
Praise for What is Dyslexia?: '...informative, based on the latest research and compassionate - three qualities that make this a must read for parents and children struggling with dyslexia.' - Paul M. Quinlan, Ph.D. from The Curtis Blake Center Praise for An Introduction to Dyslexia for Parents and Professionals by the same author: 'Hultquist writes in such measured, clear and uncluttered prose that no one can take the journey from diagnosis to remediation without feeling that one is in the hands of someone who really understands the issues surrounding a dyslexia diagnosis, not only for the one diagnosed but also for the whole family and the professionals working with them.' - Dyslexia Contact, Vol. 26, Feb 2007 What is Dyslexia? is designed to help adults explain dyslexia to children. The author provides information about all the most common types of dyslexia: trouble with sounds, trouble remembering how letters and words look, trouble finding words, and mixed dyslexia. He deals with the basic facts and adopts a style which is accessible to children without talking down to them. The book includes clear examples which children will be able to understand, as well as activities for parents to do with their children. The author emphasises that everyone has strengths and weaknesses and that having dyslexia is okay. This book will be valuable for parents of children with dyslexia, as well as other adults working with children with dyslexia.
Publication Date: 2008
Facebook Twitter Instagram