Questions? Ask Your Librarian!
Scholarly? Peer-reviewed?
Have you heard your professor use the terms "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" sources before?
These terms describe research articles that have been critically examined by other scholars in the same field.
To limit your search to only scholarly articles you can select the "scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals" option in the database. If you're still not sure if the article is peer-reviewed, visit the journal's website or ask a librarian!
Welcome ENGL 1106!
This guide will help you find information for your research paper.
First: Google is awesome! You've probably learned how to search Google a long time ago. Google will only help you so much for your assignment (and other assignments in university). Library databases will help you find relevant and timely information for your essays. This page will help you command your search and get the results you want (not ads and fake news that you see on Google).
Remember research is NOT a linear process. Although I suggest steps to follow, you may repeat steps and this is okay! Need more help? Contact your librarian, Jason!
Step 1: Finding Short Stories in Novanet
To find short stories by an author, you will type the author's name and "short story" in the Novanet search. For example, your search should be : Zora Neale Hurston short story. If you know the short story titles, you can search by title. Tip: place the title in quotations (e.g., "book of harlem"). This is called exact phrase searching; it tells the database that you want these words in exact order. Try it!
Step 2: Background Information, Biographies, and Reviews
Now, you need to find a biography and/or reviews?
Try using the Dictionary of Literary Biography (blue books) located in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the library.
Also, try the following databases:
- CREDO Reference This link opens in a new windowCREDO provides definitions, eBooks, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
Step 3: Keywords! Plan Your Search
Once you select your topic, identify the major concepts or keywords in the topic.
Example 1: How does Edgar Allan Poe use dark humor in his stories?
Now, select 2-3 major keywords. For each keyword, select 2 synonyms or related terms.
Keywords: Edgar Allan Poe, Dark Humor, Short Stories
Related terms: Poe, Dark Comedy, Satire, Storytelling, Stories
Example 2: How does Kate Chopin utilize gendered objects to discuss feminism?
Now, select 3-4 major keywords. For each keyword, select synonyms or related terms.
Keywords: Kate Chopin, Gender, Objects, Feminism
Related terms: Chopin, women, girls, femininity, feminist, stockings, heels
Step 4: Search Databases and Novanet
Using your keywords, try searching for your topic in any of the following databases or Novanet. You can find secondary (scholarly) sources, by selecting "limit to: peer-reviewed scholarly journals". Depending on your topic, you may have to search more than one database to find articles or books.
Note: Try @ CBU is a link to the PDF!
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America, Academic Search Ultimate provides an enormous advantage to students seeking a broader, more global perspective in their research.
- MLA - Modern Languages Association, International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowLiterature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. [EBSCO]
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX is the authoritative bibliographic database for sociology research. It offers millions of indexed records from top sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThis database is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Content includes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. [EBSCO]
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThe go-to archival database of scholarly journals. Does not provide access to the last four or five years of journal issues.
Step 5: Cite Your Sources!
Use the following guide to help you format your in-text citations and Works Cited page!
- MLA - OWL Purdue U GuideGuide to help with citations, bibliographies, and styles.
Facebook Twitter Instagram