Skip to main content

English

Welcome ENGL 1106!

This guide will help you find information for your research paper.

First: Google is awesome! You've probably learned how to search Google a long time ago. Google will only help you so much for your assignment (and other assignments in university). Library databases will help you find relevant and timely information for your essays. This page will help you command your search and get the results you want (not ads and fake news that you see on Google).

Remember research is NOT a linear process. Although I suggest steps to follow, you may repeat steps and this is okay!  Need more help? Contact your librarian, K-Lee!

Step 1: Finding Short Stories in Novanet

To find short stories by an author, you will type the author's name and "short story" in the Novanet search. For example, your search should be : Zora Neale Hurston short story. If you know the short story titles, you can search by title. Tip: place the title in quotations (e.g., "book of harlem"). This is called exact phrase searching; it tells the database that you want these words in exact order. Try it!

Step 2: Background Information, Biographies, and Reviews

Now, you need to find a biography and/or reviews?

Try using the Dictionary of Literary Biography (blue books) located in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the library. 

Also, try the following databases:  

Step 3: Keywords! Plan Your Search

Once you select your topic, identify the major concepts or keywords in the topic.

Example 1: How does Edgar Allan Poe use dark humor in his stories?

Now, select 2-3 major keywords. For each keyword, select 2 synonyms or related terms.

Keywords: Edgar Allan Poe, Dark Humor, Short Stories

Related terms: Poe, Dark Comedy, Satire, Storytelling, Stories

 

Example 2: How does Kate Chopin utilize gendered objects to discuss feminism?

Now, select 3-4 major keywords. For each keyword, select synonyms or related terms.

Keywords: Kate Chopin, Gender, Objects, Feminism

Related terms: Chopin, women, girls, femininity, feminist, stockings, heels

Step 4: Search Databases and Novanet

Using your keywords, try searching for your topic in any of  the following databases or Novanet.  You can find secondary (scholarly) sources, by selecting "limit to: peer-reviewed scholarly journals".  Depending on your topic, you may have to search more than one database to find articles or books.

Note: Try @ CBU is a link to the PDF!

Step 5: Cite Your Sources!

Use the following guide to help you format your in-text citations and Works Cited page!

Video Tutorial

Librarian Audio and Captions in English.