Finding Music and Performances @ CBU Library
Finding music and video is easy using Novanet. Type in the search box (below) a key term, such as the geographic location or language you're looking for (e.g. 'africa' or 'gaelic'). Click 'Search'.
After getting your results, under 'Resource Type' in the left hand filter, click 'Audio Visual' (or specify one of the sub-categories, such as 'CD' and 'DVD'). You can also narrow down your search by clicking Cape Breton University CD Collection or Cape Breton University Audiovisual Collection under 'Location'.
Celtic Colours Press Kits - CDs
Celtic Colours Festival donated a collection of press kits (they typically contain a CD and some written promotional material) to Cape Breton University. The Beaton Institute houses all of the written material from the press kits, and that material is accessible to students. The CBU library houses the CDs, and these can be taken out.
The excel sheet below lists the band name and whether or not an accompanying CD is available from the library.
The call numbers for the CDs can be found in the library catalog by searching for the band name; you'll need that call number to give to staff at the circulation desk, who will then retrieve the disc for you.
- CDs from the Celtic Colours donationThe CDs listed here are found in the CBU Library
Useful Websites
- Songs of Cape Bretonfrom the website: MacEdward Leach and the Songs of Atlantic Canada
- Sruth nan Gaidheal/Gael StreamPortal to Nova Scotia Gaelic digital resources, including "Music and Culture Ceòl is Cultar", from St. FX University.
- Tobar an dualchaisThis website contains thousands of oral recordings recorded in Scotland and further afield, from the 1930s onwards. The items you can listen to include stories, songs, music, poetry and factual information.
- Music Scotland[from the website]: Over 4000 Scottish, Irish, Roots, World, Folk and Celtic music CDs, DVDs, books and sheet music titles, with mp3 music samples
- Cape Breton Fiddle RecordingsOnline index of "recently issued recordings and a nearly complete collection of the older recordings".
- Cape Breton MagazineA digitized collection of the Cape Breton Magazine (1972-1999), including articles and audio recordings. This unique resource is packed with the oral history of a rapidly changing community. Want to know what an eyestone was? Check Issue 4.
- National Jukebox - Library of Congressthe Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made "by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others." [from the website]
- Language in LyricsAn searchable, browsable index of 6000+ songs in Nova Scotia Gaelic. See https://languageinlyrics.com/ for more information on the project.
Facebook Twitter Instagram