Beaton Institute's Mi'kmaq Records
- Cape Breton's Enduring Musical Legacy: Four Women of Influence The Cape Breton's Enduring Musical Legacy: Four Women of Influence was developed to recognize the key roles of women in keeping Cape Breton's rich and diverse musical tradition alive. This project page will provide access to descriptions for a selection of materials relating to these creators, performers, and champions of music and art in their respective communities. One of the four women in this collection is Rita Joe from Eskasoni.
- Cape Breton Oyster / Mntmu Project Dr. Beresford is a faculty member at Cape Breton University in the Department of Biology and a Research Fellow at the Verschuren Centre for Sustainability in Energy and the Environment. His current research projects include a 3-year Bras d’Or Lake oyster disease mitigation project with 12 oyster leaseholders, and two cocktail oyster development projects with the community of Potlotek. Funding for this work generously provided through Nova Scotia Fisheries and Aquaculture and Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency. CBU student Tara Johnson has worked to identify archival records and collections related to the Cape Breton oyster industry.
- Guide to the Mi'kmaq Holdings This guide is intended to help researchers locate material about the documentary heritage of the Mi’kmaq which is held within the Archives. These historically significant documents include government documents, private manuscript collections, books, maps, reports, periodicals, newspapers, photographs, and sound and moving image recordings. This page also provides a link to the Digital Archives Mi'kmaq records.
- Sarah Denny Cultural Collection The Sarah Denny Cultural Collection (SDCC) is dedicated to preserving and sharing Mi’kmaq voices, knowledge, and history with Mi’kmaq communities throughout Unama’ki and Mi'kma'ki, as well as with the Cape Breton University community. As a Mi’kmaw elder, Sarah Denny was involved in the creation, preservation, and revitalization of Mi’kmaq culture, language, and history and her work, including her position as a cultural officer with the Mi’kmaq Association of Cultural Studies, reflects this commitment. The records in this collection were created and/or collected by Sarah Denny and her family and include interviews with elders, traditional chants, hymns, and Mi’kmaq community events and games.
- [Mi'kmaq News]: Micmac News, 1965-1991 The Micmac News (1965-1991) is an important example of Mi’kmaw print culture; it was first developed by Roy Gould in Membertou in 1965 and later published until 1991 by the Union of Nova Scotia Indians and the Native Communications Society of Nova Scotia, respectively. This invaluable research tool covers historical and contemporary issues and events, including Aboriginal rights cases, social and labour history, material and intangible culture, and celebrations of Mi’kmaw life. The newspaper provides a means of language preservation; prayers and myths were printed in the paper, and simple language lessons in Mi’kmaq were also a regular feature.
School of Arts and Social Sciences Librarian
SD-46: Sarah Denny (Side A)
Song of Eskasoni- The Oka Song
Keywords to Use
- Mi'kmaq
- L'nu
- Indigenous
- Aboriginal
- Micmac
- Indian
- Place Names (e.g. U'nama'kik)
- Community Names (e.g. Eskasoni)
- People (e.g. Wilfred Prosper, Rita Joe, etc.)
*While finding and using the Beaton Institute's digital archives and other archives, the dominant structure for organizing information is from a western perspective. For this reason you may need to use outdated (sometimes offensive) terminology to find resources; do not hesitate to contact me, the Archivist, or the Indigenous Information Specialist Librarian for assistance navigating this.
Facebook Twitter Instagram