LibGuides: Beaton Institute : Accessing and Using the Holdings

Beaton Institute's User Guides

Beaton Institute – Guide to the Holdings This document provides brief descriptions of our a selection of our collections. Search this document for keywords.
Black Nova Scotian Holdings Cape Breton's Black Nova Scotian population have made a significant contribution to the cultural development of Cape Breton Island. Under the direction of Dr. Graham Reynolds, Viola Desmond Chair of Social Justice, CBU students Samantha Blois and Jarred Chiasson compiled a guide to the Black Nova Scotian resources of the Beaton Institute. We are happy to present this guide, and look forward to its expansion in the future.
A Guide to the Genealogical Holdings at the Beaton Institute This guide is intended to help researchers learn more about the genealogical resources that can be found at the Beaton Institute.
Guide to the Mi’kmaw Holdings at the Beaton Institute This guide is intended to help researchers locate material relating to the Mi’kmaq which is held within the Archives.

Archive Anti-Racism Resources

Provincial and National Archives

Archives PEI Archives PEI is the Archives Council of Prince Edward Island's description database. The database includes more than 1400 archival descriptions or "finding aids" from seven member institutions across Prince Edward Island. More descriptions will become available online as entries are added to the database.
Council of Nova Scotia Archives The CNSA promotes archival excellence among institutions and archivists in Nova Scotia that are entrusted with the care of documentary heritage. They provide a network for co-operation, support, and promotion of the use of archives.
Dalhousie University Archives The University Archives in the Killam Memorial Library holds extensive primary source material to support research and teaching at Dalhousie and beyond. The Archives also receives select administrative records from university departments. Use this guide to discover our collections.
Library and Archives Canada Library and Archives Canada (LAC) is a key resource for all Canadians who wish to gain a better understanding of who they are, individually and collectively. LAC acquires, processes, preserves and provides access to our documentary heritage and serves as the continuing memory of the Government of Canada and its institutions.
Nova Scotia Archives Nova Scotia Archives acquires, preserves, and makes available the province's documentary heritage — recorded information of provincial significance created or accumulated by government and the private sector over the last 300 years.
Provincial Archives of New Brunswick The Provincial Archives of New Brunswick collects, preserves, and makes available for research, documents and records bearing upon the history of New Brunswick.
The Rooms The Rooms is a portal to the many stories of the province of Newfoundland and Labrador and its people have to tell. Here, you'll find collections, exhibits and programs that tell our stories and interpret our natural world through art, artifacts, archaeology, architecture and archival records.

Introduction to Online Resources at the Beaton Institute

Learn more about how to find and access resources at the Beaton Institute archive at Cape Breton University. As well, learn how to contact staff for assistance or more information.

Archival Citations

When quoting or paraphrasing an archival source from any archive, you must provide a full citation to the material. There are four key elements that will be used when citing archival materials:

Title of Item
Title of Fonds/Collection
Reference Code/Item Identifier
Repository/Archive

Dalhousie University has a guide to citing archival sources using the APA Style, MLA Style, and Chicago Manual of Styles.

Beaton Institute's Social Media

Location and Hours of Operation

Location

The Beaton Institute is located in CE-267 (Student, Culture, & Heritage Centre), adjacent to the Cape Breton University Art Gallery and the Mi’kmaq Resource Centre. The Institute is wheelchair accessible, and parking is available with a $1.00 per day charge.

Hours of Operation

Tuesday – Friday: 9:00 am to 4:00 pm

(Closed for lunch, 12-1:00 pm)

Closed on Saturday, Sunday and Monday

Research Help

For help with your research, the Beaton Institute recommends making an appointment by emailing beaton@cbu.ca.