Canada - Policy, Data, Market Research - MBA(CED) Guide - LibGuides at Cape Breton University

SiteWise - Canadian Population Characteristics

SiteWise This link opens in a new window

SiteWise easily provides demographic profile reports for Canadian standard geographic or mapped study areas.Data includes most current census, estimates and projections, consumer spending, business profiles etc.

Sitewise Guide [2019]

Market Research

Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport provides data and insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping to analyse market context and identify future trends.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics; consumer survey results; market research reports etc from more than 22,500 sources on over 60,000 topics.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld’s online database of thousands of industry research reports provides students, faculty and career advisors with the same trusted industry intelligence and tools used by companies around the world.

StatsCan Data via UofT[CHASS]

CANSIM@CHASS provides historical and current CANSIM data updated daily via a direct data feed from Statistics Canada. CHASS provides multiple views to CANSIM data: time-series view, multidimensional view, and OLAP view. CANSIM holds over 70 million times series on labour, crime, health, education, population, manufacturing, transportation, etc.

CHASS Census Analyser provides census profiles data from the 1961 Census to 2016 Census. These are easy to subset and download using UofT’s custom software.

Government of Canada - Statistics & Sites

Below are access points to Statistics Canada's and other government departments data offered on their sites or through CBU's DLI license. For further information on accessing data contact Martin Chandler. When formatting your papers use "How to Cite Statistics Canada Products".

2021 Census Profiles
Census Program Datasets[CPD] Portal
CPD portal is a centralized repository of selected key standard data products beginning with the 1991 Census through to the 2021 Census
Government of Canada Open Data
The Government of Canada's Open Data portal. You can browse by subject, or search specific datasets to download and use. There is also information on working with data and APIs (application program interfaces), visualizing data, and suggesting data.
Canadian Government Information

Canadian Economic Data

Canadian Industry Statistics

Canadian Community Economic Development Network Resources

The on-line CED Toolbox of the Canadian CED Network holds 500 plus resources organized by theme and searchable by keyword . A nice first stop for research topics.

Conference Board of Canada eLibrary

Conference Board of Canada E-Library This link opens in a new window
The full-service e-Library subscription provides electronic access to research products from The Conference Board of Canada and The Conference Board, Inc. (based in New York). Over 8,000 documents are currently available on the e-Library and more than 350 are added annually.

For full text access from off campus, visit www.conferenceboard.ca and click on “Create an account” in the upper right corner. When creating an account you must use your CBU e-mail address and information so Conference Board can link you to CBU's subscription.