LibGuides: Business Research: Industry Info

Market Research on Consumers, Industries, and Companies

Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport provides data and insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping to analyse market context and identify future trends.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics; consumer survey results; market research reports etc from more than 22,500 sources on over 60,000 topics.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld’s online database of thousands of industry research reports provides students, faculty and career advisors with the same trusted industry intelligence and tools used by companies around the world.

These links provide readily available and trustworthy sources of trade data on international economies.

International merchandise trade for Canada by Commodity and Principal Trading Partners
Includes Canadian trade data for Canada and each of the provinces by trading parnter and commodity
The Observatory of Economic Complexity
This tool makes international trade data and economic complexity indicators available through millions of interactive visualizations.
UN Comtrade Database
This is the largest depository of international trade data. It holds over 1.1 billion data records from more that 140 countries. Includes detail on commodities and partner countries. All commodity values expressed in US dollars. Time series date back to 1962.
World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)
The World Bank with UNCTAD,International Trade Center, United Nations Statistical Division (UNSD) and the WTO developed WITS. This software allows users to access and retrieve information on trade and tariffs.

Canadian Industry Statistics through Industry Canada
Industry data on economic indicators using the latest annual data sources from Statistics Canada. Best entry point to find company directories, SME Benchmarking Tool, productivity numbers etc.

Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Provides market intelligence on thousands of global companies, economies, and industries. Includes articles; case studies; statistics; infographics; market share reports; SWOTS; market research reports etc.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Content from top Business trade publications, journals, country reports, market reports plus company profiles.

Annual Reports
A free service providing the latest US company annual reports as PDFs
Canadian Nonprofits
Use this site to confirm if a Canadian nonprofit is registered. View a nonprofit's contact information, general activities, and financial information

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Covers business, news, and law. It includes business news journals; company financial information; SEC filings and reports; and industry and market news; international, regional, and national newspapers; and non-English language news sources. It is also a rich resource for legal information including Canadian, US, and European case law and legislation, legal news, law reviews etc.