LibGuides: PSYC4101 History of Psychology : Home

Databases

The psychology specific databases below allow you to search more in depth in your subject area. PsychInfo allows for very specific searching, you can limit by type of research, as well as classification codes such as 2140 (history and systems).

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Content includes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. [EBSCO]
Oxford Handbooks Online- Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks in 17 subject areas. The Oxford Handbooks are one of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford's scholarly publishing, containing in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text journals from Elsevier Science focusing primarily on the sciences but includes disciplines such as arts and humanities, management, and the social sciences.

-----

The history databases below may help when researching historical psychologists or psychology.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The go-to archival database of scholarly journals. Does not provide access to the last four or five years of journal issues.
Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window
Canadian documentary heritage including books, newspapers, periodicals, images and nationally-significant archival materials in specialized searchable databases.

Searching tips

Searching the main library search box below, make sure you add multiple keyworks:

"History of Psychology AND Indigenous" or "History of Psychology AND queer" to narrow down results.

Limit by date, type of material (book, peer reviewed article, etc) and subject area on the left hand side of the search page.

Novanet Search

Credo Reference

Historical links and resources

Classics in the History of Psychology
This site provides access to approximately 450 original and classic documents in a broad range of disciplines including philosophy, education, ethics, child development, sociology, and history in addition to psychology.
History of Psychology (Academic Journal)
A history of Psychology in Autobiography
Autobiographies of psychologists over history.

History and Theories of Psychology
ISBN: 0340741163
The authors trace the development of the discipline against the backdrop of the intellectual, social, and political contexts in which it emerged. They go on to address critical topics of debate in contemporary psychology, such as biological determinism, folk psychology, and much more.