Library Resources
Begin your search by consulting reference resources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. You'll find definitions, background information, and potential search terms.
Emergency Management Compliance Manual, Second Edition by Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Disaster Policies and Institutions by Publication Date: 2013Access e-book using Novanet by searching the title.
How to Write an Emergency Plan by Publication Date: 2017
Planning for Community Resilience: A handbook for reducing vulnerability to disasters by Publication Date: 2014
Novanet is your main access to books and e-books. (Look for the large search box on the library's webpage.)
Begin your Novanet search using keywords, subject headings, or a combination of both. Filters, located to the left of the results screen, allow you to modify results to books and e-books (See: Resource Type: Books and Availability: Full Text Online).
Sample subject headings include:
- crisis management
- disaster planning
- disaster relief
- disasters - prevention & control
- emergency management
- hazard mitigation
- natural disasters
- .... this list is not comprehensive
Disaster Proof: Scenario planning for a post-pandemic future by Publication Date: 2021-05-05
Emergency Preparedness Through Community Cohesion by Publication Date: 2019
Emergency Public Health: Preparedness and response by Publication Date: 2010
Environmental Disaster Management by Publication Date: 2020
Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Emergency Preparedness and Response by Publication Date: 2020-11-28
Introduction to Emergency Evacuation: Getting everyone out when it counts by Publication Date: 2016
Landesman's Public Health Management of Disasters: The practical guide by Publication Date: 2017
Managing the Risks of Extreme Events and Disasters to Advance Climate Change Adaptation by Publication Date: 2012
Multilevel Governance and Emergency Management in Canadian Municipalities by Publication Date: 2014
Principles of Emergency Planning and Management by Publication Date: 2014
E-books housed in these multi-disciplinary e-collections aren't immediately available in Novanet. It's recommended searching these collections along with Novanet.
- Academic E-books (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
- Canada Commons (Formerly Canadian Electronic Library) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides searchable access to public documents issued by Canadian public policy agencies and think tanks, as well as books from 100 Canadian publishers. Documents may be downloaded in PDF; book titles are available for online access only.
Locate journal and professional literature. Use filters such as publication date, document type (ex. academic, magazine, trade, etc.), and more to modify results.
NOTE: Do not limit results to full text! Doing so will remove records from your results that may be available elsewhere in the library's electronic resources.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- Global Health This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
This list is not comprehensive. Use databases such as ABI Inform, Academic Search Ultimate, Business Source, Global Health, and others to search for academic and professional literature.
Facebook Twitter Instagram