Education Reference Resources
Use dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks to define terms; provide insights into concepts and theories; discover the vocabulary around your topic; and more.
Credo Reference helps you start your research in education with overviews of contemporary and historical thought and practice, as well as reference resources on special education, early childhood education, and adult learning.
Education Reference Books
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development (The) by
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting. The second edition has also been thoroughly updated to reflect major developments over the last decade in areas such as neuroscientific methods, developmental cognitive and social neuroscience, the effects of environmental influences on gene expression, and the relationship between human development and evolution. Throughout 124 entries, the Encyclopedia advocates an integrated, interdisciplinary approach to the study of child development. With clear, jargon-free style and user-friendly format, this is the essential reference for researchers and students of child development, as well as healthcare professionals, social workers, educators, and anyone interested in the well-being of children.
Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies by Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory by Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Middle Grades Education, 2nd ed. by
The second edition of The Encyclopedia of Middle Grades Education has been revised, updated, and expanded since its original publication in 2005. The Encyclopedia is a comprehensive overview of the field; it contains alphabetically organized entries that address important concepts, ideas, terms, people, organizations, publications, and research studies specifically related to middle grades education. This edition contains over 210 entries from nearly 160 expert contributors, this is a 25% increase in the number of entries over the first edition. The Encyclopedia is aimed at a general audience including undergraduate students in middle?level teacher preparation programs, graduate students, higher education faculty, and practitioners and administrators. The comprehensive list of entries are comprised of both short entries (500 words) and longer entries (2000 words). A significant number of entries appearing in the first edition have been revised and updated. Citations and references are provided for each entry.
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Science Education by
The Encyclopedia of Science Education provides a comprehensive international reference work covering the range of methodologies, perspectives, foci, and cultures of this field of inquiry, and to do so via contributions from leading researchers from around the globe. Because of the frequent ways in which scholarship in science education has led to developments in other curriculum areas, the encyclopedia has significance beyond the field of science education. The Encyclopedia of Science Education is aimed at graduate students, researchers, developers in science education and science education research. The topics to be covered encompass all areas of science education and it includes biographical entries on science educators, as well as educators whose work has had an impact on science education as a research field.
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education by
The Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. The first two volumes consist of A-Z entries, and a third volume is made up of documentary, photographic, and visual resources. The two A-Z volumes include essays representing the major disciplines (philosophy, history, sociology, etc.).
Call Number: LB 17 E53 2009 Vols. 1-3Publication Date: 2008
Greenwood Dictionary of Education (The) by
This book defines over 3,000 terms from the field of education to assist those charged with teaching students to become global citizens in a rapidly changing, technological society. * 3,050 A-Z entries, including over 400 new and revised definitions * 128 contributors from a variety of specialized areas related to education * Three tables and graphs to illustrate specific aspects of mathematics and evaluation in education * An introduction on education terminology by editors John W. Collins and Nancy Patricia O'Brien, distinguished librarians in the study of education * Author attributions for each definition * An extensive, updated bibliography of sources that identify and explain terms used within education
Publication Date: 2011
Handbook of Behavioral Interventions in Schools by
Tasked chiefly with providing effective instruction, classroom teachers must also manage student behavior. Prevalence of student problem behavior is a strong indicator of failing schools, and has been linked to reduced academic achievement, truancy, bullying, and loss of teacher time. As suchdemand is on the rise for intervention programs that may effectively reduce levels of problem behavior in schools.Handbook of Behavioral Interventions in Schools is a comprehensive collection of evidence-based strategies for addressing student behavior in the classroom and other school settings. Experts in the fields of special education and school psychology provide practical guidance on over twenty behaviorinterventions that can be used to promote appropriate student behavior. Framed within a multi-tiered system of support, a framework representing one of the predominant service delivery models in schools, interventions are categorized as Tier I, Tier II, or Tier III, and chapters provide insight intohow students might be placed in and moved through respective levels of service intensity. Each chapter details a specific intervention strategy, and includes reproducible materials to facilitate use of the intervention, case studies, and further reading for school-based practitioners. Introductorychapters on behavior analysis, multi-tiered systems of support, and law and ethics place the practical guides in a context that is relevant for school-based practice. Walking readers through the entire process of assessment of problem behaviors to intervention and progress monitoring, Handbook ofBehavioral Interventions in Schools is an invaluable resource for special education teachers, school psychologists, and trainees in these fields.
Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Peer Interactions, Relationships, and Groups by Publication Date: 2008
Handbook of Prosocial Education by
Handbook of Prosocial Education is the definitive theoretical, practical, and policy guide to the prosocial side of education, the necessary second side of the educational coin. Academic teaching and learning are the first side of education; however, academic success depends upon the structures and support of prosocial educational efforts from promoting positive school climate to fostering student and teacher development to civic literacy and responsible and critical citizenship participation. The Handbook of Prosocial Education chapters, written by highly-respected researchers and outstanding educators, represent the wide range of research-based prosocial interventions from pre-school through high school. The chapters explore and explain how prosocial education helps teachers create effective classroom learning environments to support the development of the whole student, principals encourage positive school climate, and superintendents work to improve the health and well-being of their systems. As readers will learn, when done well, prosocial education develops the capacities and competencies of students, teachers, and school administrators that lead to a more autonomous, positive self-concept, greater sense of purpose, more socially responsible behaviors, and increased connections between families, schools, and communities. This book pulls together in one place for the first time the various threads that create the prosocial education tapestry, making a compelling case for the necessity of changing national educational policy that continues to be ever-more oriented to only the academic side of the educational coin, thus jeopardizing the foundational and historic purpose of educating our children for their full human development and participation in our democracy.
Publication Date: 2012
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts by Publication Date: 2010
Praeger International Handbook of Special Education (The) by
This handbook provides a concise overview of special education services in countries across the world, using the Article on Education in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities as the analytical frame. The Praeger International Handbook of Special Education presents a concise and clear overview of special education services in more than 70 countries across the world using the Article on Education in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with disabilities as the analytical frame. Each chapter offers information about the country in general, followed by sections on the public education system, the private education system, the special education system, teacher training requirements, and barriers to and promising trends in inclusive and special education. The volumes and chapters are organized by the United Nations Geoscheme, with Volume 1 including an overview of the volumes and chapters on countries in the Americas, Volume 2 addressing countries from Europe and Africa, and Volume 3 focusing on countries in Asia and Oceania. This is the most complete exploration of the delivery of supports and services to children and youth with disabilities across the globe available. The volumes do not compare among or between countries, but rather provide a baseline for understanding current special education practices and their relationship with general education and inclusive practices across the globe. Readers will come away with an in-depth understanding of what is happening with regard to the implementation of special education services and Article 24 of the Convention for the Rights of People with Disabilities. This valuable reference set serves researchers, graduate students, and policymakers in special and general education as well as professionals focused on issues of education worldwide and scholars focused on international special education. As such, this handbook will be an important reference source for university libraries, professional associations, and policy entities. * Provides a comprehensive scope and broad coverage that addresses more than 70 countries, regions, and provinces across virtually every part of the world * Offers information on each nation or area on the public education system, private education system, special education system, teacher training requirements, and barriers to inclusive and special education * Presents both information about current practices in special education and promising new trends likely to take hold in the future
Publication Date: 2017
Sage Encyclopedia of Classroom Management (The) by
A teacher's ability to manage the classroom strongly influences the quality of teaching and learning that can be accomplished. Among the most pressing concerns for inexperienced teachers is classroom management, a concern of equal importance to the general public in light of behavior problems and breakdowns in discipline that grab newspaper headlines. But classroom management is not just about problems and what to do when things go wrong and chaos erupts. It's about how to run a classroom so as to elicit the best from even the most courteous group of students. An array of skills is needed to produce such a learning environment. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Classroom Management raises issues and introduces evidence-based, real-world strategies for creating and maintaining well-managed classrooms where learning thrives. Students studying to become teachers will need to develop their own classroom management strategies consistent with their own philosophies of teaching and learning. This work aims to open their eyes to the range of issues and the array of skills they might integrate into their unique teaching styles. Key Features: 325 signed entries organized in A-to-Z fashion across two volumes Reader's Guide grouping related entries thematically References/Further Readings and Cross-References sections Chronology in the back matter Resource Guide in the appendix This encyclopedia is an excellent scholarly source for students who are pursuing a degree or position in the field of education.
Publication Date: 2015
Sage Encyclopedia of Educational Technology by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Technology examines information on leveraging the power of technology to support teaching and learning. While using innovative technology to educate individuals is certainly not a new topic, how it is approached, adapted, and used toward the services of achieving real gains in student performance is extremely pertinent.
Publication Date: 2015
Sage Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence (The) by
In 1980, SAGE published Geert Hofstede's Culture's Consequences. It opens with a quote from Blaise Pascal: "There are truths on this side of the Pyrenees that are falsehoods on the other." The book became a classic--one of the most cited sources in the Social Science Citation Index--and subsequently appeared in a second edition in 2001. This new SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence picks up on themes explored in that book. Cultural competence refers to the set of attitudes, practices, and policies that enables a person or agency to work well with people from differing cultural groups. Other related terms include cultural sensitivity, transcultural skills, diversity competence, and multicultural expertise. What defines a culture? What barriers might block successful communication between individuals or agencies of differing cultures? How can those barriers be understood and navigated to enhance intercultural communication and understanding? These questions and more are explained within the pages of this new reference work. Key Features: 300 to 350 entries organized in A-to-Z fashion in two volumes Signed entries that conclude with Cross-References and Suggestions for Further Readings Thematic "Reader's Guide" in the front matter grouping related entries by broad topic areas Chronology that provides a historical perspective of the development of cultural competence as a discrete field of study Resources appendix and a comprehensive Index The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence is an authoritative and rigorous source on intercultural competence and related issues, making it a must-have reference for all academic libraries.
Publication Date: 2015- Sage Guide to Curriculum in Education by Publication Date: 2015
Sage Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction (The) by
The SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction emerges from a concept of curriculum and instruction as a diverse landscape defined and bounded by schools, school boards and their communities, policy, teacher education, and academic research. Each contributing author was asked to comprehensively review the research literature in their assigned topic. These topics, however, are defined by practical places on the landscape e.g. schools and governmental policies for schools. Key Features: o Presents a different vision or reconceptualization of the field o Provides a comprehensive and inclusive set of authors, ideas, and topics o Takes a global rather than North American parochial approach o Recognizes that curriculum and instruction is broader in scope than is suggested by university research and theory o Reflects post-1992 changes in curriculum policy, practice and scholarship o Represents a rethinking of how school subject matter areas are treated. Teacher education is included in the Handbook with the intent of addressing the role and place of teacher education in bridging state and national curriculum policies and curriculum as enacted in classrooms.
Publication Date: 2007
Sage Handbook of Inclusion and Diversity in Education by Publication Date: 2019
Facebook Twitter Instagram