Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
This collection of ebooks provides access to 800+ reputable reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) supporting most academic disciplines.
Federal Science Libraries Network (FSLN) Canada This link opens in a new window
The Federal Science Libraries Network (FSLN) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based government of Canada departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets and other content are freely available for anyone to access or download.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text journals from Elsevier Science focusing primarily on the sciences but includes disciplines such as arts and humanities, management, and the social sciences.
Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 19 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.
In the course of this research, scientists use special stains to add color to the otherwise transparent tissues. Microscopes then allow detailed observation. The tiny biological structures revealed in these images are beautiful; we share them with you here as a fascinating combination of art and science that we call BioArtography.
Online gallery for bird art, bird paintings and illustrations.
Birds of North America
Birds of North America (BNA) is the most comprehensive reference for the life histories of over 760 bird species that breed in the United States and Canada. Species accounts are written by ornithologists and other experts and are an essential reference for anyone with an advanced interest in birds. BNA accounts have always offered an in-depth, authoritative summary of scientific literature and media. However, in combination with the Macaulay Library and eBird, our restructured species accounts are now accompanied by new sounds, images, and video, and distributional maps and model output generated by eBird.
John Muir Laws: how to draw birds
Contains many blog posts giving step-by-step demonstrations and details about drawing birds (see list at right).