Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your professor has probably asked you to use scholarly or journal articles in your research. Why are they valued?
- Scrutinized and reviewed prior to publication
- Place where new research is revealed
- Published more frequently than books
- Can direct you to more information (i.e. bibliographies)
- Sources for illustrative examples to support research
What to look for:
- Authors' affiliations (i.e. university where research took place)
- Often an abstract (summary) will be present
- Bibliography and footnotes
- An introduction, methodology, and conclusion
(in the Sciences especially)
Research Databases and Indexes
Accessible off-campus. Core index for chemists and students of chemistry and related sciences. Access is limited to members of the CBU community.
Databases and Journal Collections
Academic Search Ultimate
Provides access to information published in academic journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Indexes 10,000+ full text journals & magazines. Subject area: multidisciplinary.
Search publishers' sites using keywords. If an "Advanced Search" option is available, use it! It allows you to develop more precise searches.
Focus your search by scrolling "subjects" to select relevant disciplines.
Open Access Chemistry Journals