Questions? Ask Your Librarian!
Scholarly? Peer-reviewed?
Have you heard your professor use the terms "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" sources before?
These terms describe research articles that have been critically examined by other scholars in the same field.
To limit your search to only scholarly articles you can select the "scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals" option in the database. If you're still not sure if the article is peer-reviewed, visit the journal's website or ask a librarian!
Welcome ENGL 1107!
This guide will help you find information for your research paper.
First: Google is awesome! You've probably learned how to search Google a long time ago. Google will only help you so much for your assignment (and other assignments in university). Library databases will help you find relevant and timely information for your essays. This page will help you command your search and get the results you want (not ads and fake news that you see on Google).
Remember research is NOT a linear process. Although I suggest steps to follow, you may repeat steps and this is okay! Need more help? Contact your librarian, Jason!
Step 1: Keywords! Plan Your Search
Once you select your topic, identify the major concepts or keywords in the topic.
Example 1: How do media representations of Colin Kaepernick and the NFL address race in America?
Now, select 3 major keywords. For each keyword, select 2 synonyms or related terms.
Keywords: media representation, NFL, race
Related terms: media, news, sports, football, racism, discrimination
Example 2: Will Beyonce's marketing strategies help her public image?
Now, select 2 major keywords. For each keyword, select synonyms or related terms.
Keywords: Beyonce, Marketing
Related terms: Beyonce Knowles, branding, image, media
Step 2: Background Information
Have you used Wikipedia to look up definitions before? Try using a scholarly resource like CREDO Reference. CREDO provides definitions, eBooks, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
- CREDO Reference This link opens in a new windowThis collection of ebooks provides access to 800+ reputable reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) supporting most academic disciplines.
Step 3: Search Databases and Novanet
Using your keywords, try searching for your topic in any of the following databases or Novanet. You can find secondary (scholarly) sources, by selecting "limit to: peer-reviewed scholarly journals". Depending on your topic, you may have to search more than one database to find articles or books.
Note: Try @ CBU is a link to the PDF!
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America, Academic Search Ultimate provides an enormous advantage to students seeking a broader, more global perspective in their research.
- MLA - Modern Languages Association, International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. [EBSCO]
- SPORTDiscus with Fulltext This link opens in a new window A comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 530 publications
Step 4: Cite Your Sources!
Use the following guide to help you format your in-text citations and Works Cited page!
- MLA - OWL Purdue U GuideGuide to help with citations, bibliographies, and styles.
Video Tutorial
Double-click the video for full screen!
Facebook Twitter Instagram