Skip to main content

12 Things You Want to Know about Resources: Journals (Periodicals)

This guide targets students in the areas of Arts and Social Sciences. All the pages will be updated to provide new features.

Can't find the full-text? Try these steps

  1. Search for the journal article title in Novanet. If no link to full-text is found:
  2. Search for the journal title (not journal article title) in Journal Title Search. Once you find the journal, drill down by year, volume, issue, page to get to article. If the journal title is not found:
  3. Search for the journal article title in Google Scholar (via CBU library). If no link to full-text is found:
  4. Search the Internet. If full-text is not found:
  5. Use the Interlibrary Loan.

How to Find an Article Using Journal Title Search

Enter the journal title that you are looking for:

 
 

Or click Journal Title Search to search for journals.

Tips

1) When you find the journal that you were looking for, check the providers.

Journal title - full text availability

2) Check the availability of the journal articles.

Journal title - full text availability

Find "Journal Titles" on our website

1) You can find it by mousing over Library on the top of the CBU University website.

Find Journal Titles

2) You can also find it by clicking Search & Find on the CBU Library website.

Find Journal Titles

Find an article from a citation

When you look at Works Cited, References, and Bibliography, you find the list of citations. If you want to find an article from the journal title, Journal Title Search is a useful tool.

For example, look at the citation below: 

Hunter, K. M., Westwick, J. N., & Haleta, L. L. (2014). Assessing success: The impacts of a fundamentals of speech course on decreasing public speaking anxiety. Communication Education, 63(2), 124-135. http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/03634523.2013.875213

What you need is typing Communication Education in the following box: 

 
 

What does "periodical" mean?

A serial publication with its own distinctive title, containing a mix of articles, editorials, reviews, columns, short stories, poems, or other short works written by more than one contributor, issued in softcover more than once, generally at regular stated intervals of less than a year, without prior decision as to when the final issue will appear. Although each issue is complete in itself, its relationship to preceding issues is indicated by enumeration, usually issue number and volume number printed on the front cover. Content is controlled by an editor or editorial board.

 

The category includes magazines, sold on subscription and at newsstands; journals, sold on subscription and/or distributed to members of scholarly societies and professional associations; and newsletters, but not proceedings or the other regular publications of corporate bodies as they relate primarily to meetings. Nor are newspapers formally classified as periodicals--although many libraries store newspapers with magazines and journals, separate values are assigned for periodicals and newspapers in the 008 field of the MARC record to indicate type of serial. Also, the statement in AACR2 that serials include periodicals, newspapers, annuals, proceedings, and numbered monographic series implies that newspapers are not considered periodicals.

 

Periodicals are published by scholarly societies, university presses, trade and professional associations, government agencies, commercial publishers, and nonprofit organizations. The most comprehensive directory of periodicals is Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory published annually by ProQuest, available in the reference section of libraries in the United States. Content is indexed in finding tools called periodical indexes and abstracting services, usually by subject and author.

Most academic libraries bind all the issues for a given publication year in one or more physical volumes. The bibliographic volumes are numbered consecutively, starting with number one for the first year the title was issued. Periodicals are usually shelved alphabetically by title in a separate section of the library stacks. In some libraries, current issues are shelved separately from back files, which may be converted to microfiche or microfilm to conserve space. Microform reader-printer machines are provided for viewing and making copies. Periodicals published by the U.S. federal government may be shelved by SuDocs number in a separate section reserved for government documents. For many print periodicals, content is also available electronically in full-text bibliographic databases or via the publisher's Web site. Some periodicals are born digital and never issued in print (example: Slate). See also: essay periodical, frequency, holdings statement, and one shot.


Source

Periodical. (n.d.). In Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science. Retreieved from http://www.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_p.aspx