Skip to main content

12 Things You Want to Know about Resources: Theses & Dissertations

This guide targets students in the areas of Arts and Social Sciences. All the pages will be updated to provide new features.

How to Find Theses/Dissertations

1) To find and read Open Access dissertations and theses, use ProQuest's PQDT Open. This database offers free electronic copies (PDFs):

PQDT Open

2) Also bookmark OATD.

OATD (Open Access Theses and Dissertations)

3) There are more dissertations and theses that you can find using different discovery tools:

Google to Find Dissertations & Theses in PQDT Global and PQDT Open

Although the CBU Library does not subscribe to ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global (PQDT Global), a subscription-based database that offers its vast collection of full-text dissertations and theses, you can use Google to search the information on the author, title, year, abstract, addvisor, school, and publication number. Wen you cannot get a full text, but if the dissertation that you want to read is available to the public, you would be able to receive the PDF copy via our interlibraryloan service.

Worldcat

You can also use Worldcat to find dissertation and theses beyond the PQDT collections.

Theses Canada Portal via Library and Archives Canada

1) Find Theses & Dissertations via PQDT Open

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

Last Updated: October 21, 2015
Created by Y. Umetsubo

Back to TOP

2) OATD (Open Access Theses and Dissertations)

OATD consists of metadata (information about the theses) that comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.

Last Updated: January 9, 2016
Created by Y. Umetsubo

Back to TOP

3) How to Use Google to Find Dissertations & Theses in PQDT Global

Since August 2015, you can find ProQuest’s scholarly journals and working papers using Google Scholar. You can also find dissertations and theses preserved by ProQuest via Google as a result of ProQuest's collaboration with Google.

See the picture below. First you enter a keyword or keywords and site:http://gradworks.umi.com/ This means that you can search within PQDT Global and PQDT Open using Google. 

Google ProQuest

Instead of ordering a copy via ProQuest, try our interlibrary loan first.

4) Find Theses & Dissertations via Worldcat

Worldcat.org allows you to find dissertations and theses that are preserved by various universities. Once you know the name of the author, the title of the paper, the year of the publication, try to use our interlibrary loan service to get the actual copy.

Worldcat - Thesis_Dissertation Search

If you wonder what su:bullying* kw:school means, see below. I used Advanced Search.

Worldcat - Advanced Search

Last Updated: October 21, 2015
Created by Y. Umetsubo

Back to TOP

Theses Canada Portal

Theses Canada, launched in 1965 at the request of the deans of Canadian graduate schools, is a collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and nearly 70 universities accredited by Universities Canada.

Last Updated: February 9, 2016
Created by Y. Umetsubo

Back to TOP

Subject Guide

Yayo Umetsubo's picture
Yayo Umetsubo
Contact:
L-118B (Library) / CC214
902-563-1996
Website / Blog Page

Displaying Your Findings