This is the "Recommended Databases" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology  

Last Updated: Mar 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.cbu.ca/sociology Print Guide RSS Updates

Recommended Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar is a useful search engine, but it does not often offer full-text articles. Try subscription-based databases below as well.

i) EBSCO

Note: To take avantage of EBSCO's multidisciplinary/cross-disciplinary databases, check 2) How to use EBSCO databases.

Academic Search Ultimate

This database covers multidisciplinary academic journals that include various topics/subjects/theories in Sociology from different scopes. For example, theories and subject matters include positivism, utilitarianism, structuralism, conflict theory, equity, justice, inequality and more. In addition, Subject Terms include sampling (statistics), sampling (process), interviewing, focus group, and more. 

PsycINFO

This database focuses on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. PsycINFO offers a category to choose methodologies in Sociology: for example, empirical study, quantitative study, qualitative study, literature review, interview, nonclinical case study, field study, focus group, and so forth. You can also limit your search by age group, gender, tests & measures, and more. 

Education Source & ERIC

This database provides, for example, sociology of education, school desegregation, equal opportunity in education, teachers' career issues, and more.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

This database offers topics like assimilation, differentiation, reputation, social capital, and more.

Business Source Premier

This database offers topics like socioeconomis, social change, organizational sociology, organizational behavior, industrial sociology, management, corporate culture, and more. 

EconLit with Full Text

When you are interested in the areas of sociology of economics, economic sociology, economic anthropology, and social and economic stratification, this database is for you.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

When you are interested in sociology in terms of literature for sports and sports medicine journals, use this database.

* Some other EBSCO databases can be helpful depending on your interests. Don't limit yourself to find out more resources.

ii) ProQuest

Social Sciences

This is a gateway to the following five databases: CBCA Reference & Current Events: Social Sciences (Canadian Studies: Business, Culture, Current Events, History, and Government), CBCA Education, ebrary® e-books, Periodicals Archive Online, and Philosopher's Index. To get started, you may start a search from here while you can separately use these databases particularly when you have a specific focus.

ABI/INFORM Global

This database is a comprehensive business databases on the market. Within this scope, you can find a number of articles regarding experimental/theoretical‎, social trends & culture‎, social policy, and so forth. 

Last Updated: September 10, 2015
Created by Y. Umetsubo

Back to TOP

When you choose a database, for example, PsycINFO, specify your search by entering sociology and choosing SU Subject Terms (See the image below). Then enter your key concept in TX All Text, SU Subject Terms, or AB Abstract or Author-Supplied Abstract.

PsycINFO - EBSCO

You can also see AG Age Group. It can be challenging to choose this right now. Don't worry, you can limit your search by age group from the filters on the left column.  

Looking for Canadian publications? The aforementioned Bibliography of Native North Americans and CBCA Reference and Current Affairs (Canadian Business, Culture, Current Events, Literature, Language, Agriculture, History, Government, and Politics) are suitable for some of your research topics. Also try the following databases:

CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index)

CPI.Q features a wealth of Canadian and international periodicals, Canada’s national newspaper The Globe and Mail, Maclean’s weekly magazine and Canadian News Facts as well as comprehensive encyclopedic reference material.

Canadian Public Policy Collection

The Canadian Public Policy Collection contains almost 20,000 titles, including material published since 2006 from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip