Last Updated: Mar 21, 2017
When you've reached the point in your research where you're ready to search for journal articles, it's good to start with either Novanet (the search bar on the library home page) or some of the databases below.
- Academic Search Ultimate
Thousands of English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America, Academic Search Ultimate provides an enormous advantage to students seeking a broader, more global perspective in their research.
- Google Scholar
Access Google Scholar through this link. Note you will have to confirm a security certificate
- CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index)
Fulltext of Canadian journals, magazines and newspapers, including The Globe & Mail. [GALE]
The go-to archival database of scholarly journals. Does not provide access to the last four or five years of journal issues.
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports drawing on the connection between the environment and agriculture, education, law, health and technology. [EBSCO]
- Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences
- Bibliography of Native North Americans
Covers all aspects of Native North American culture, history and life, with a wide range of topics.
- Sociology Source Ultimate
Trial until April 15th
The journal article databases may help you if you already have a specific subject or topic within the political science area.
This is the USDA's National Agricultural Library catalog; it indexes books, journals, reports in agriculture. Freely available to the public.
- ELDIS - Institute of Development Studies
Development policy practice and research browsable by a wide range of topics. Open access.
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII)
Legislative and judicial legal texts and legal commentaries from federal, provincial, and territorial jurisdictions.
- First Nations Profiles
The First Nation Profiles is a collection of information that describes individual First Nation communities across Canada. general information on a First Nation along with more detailed information about its reserve(s), governance, federal funding, geography, registered population statistics and various Census statistics.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies
Index of resources on Latin American Studies with annotated bibliographies. Searchable database.
- IDRIS+ - IDRC Development Research Information System
Database of projects from the IDRC since 1970.
- Military and Government Collection
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government for the United States along with some Canadian and international coverage. [EBSCO]
- Philosopher's Index
Covers fields of philosophy and related disciplines and features research published since 1940. The publications covered in this comprehensive database hail from 139 countries and appear in 37 languages.
- Population Index
Annotated bibliography of world population literature including journal articles and other formats covering 1986-2000.
- UN-ODS - Official Document System of the United Nations
All types of official United Nations documentation since 1993.
Single search of United Nations statistical data. Can specify topic or country.
- World Legal Information Institute
Almost 1000 legal databases from more than 100 countries. The Websearch feature searches over 15,000 law-related websites.